Skip to Main Content

Library

Costume Design

Created for THEA 262, spring 2024.

Explore by Decade

American Decades Series by Vincent Tompkins (Editor); Victor Bondi (Editor); Judith Baughman
Call Number: Stacks 973.9 A5125 - 5th floor. Also available online.
ISBN: 9780787650766
Social history and analysis in fashion, art, politics, social life, religion, and more, browsable one decade at a time from the 1900s through the 1990s.
American Decades Primary Sources by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Call Number: Available online.
ISBN: 9780787665876
Incudes oral histories, songs, speeches, ads, play and movie scripts, letters, newspaper articles, recipes, and more.

American Decades

"How to Use American Decades" - created September 2020, 7 minutes.

Historical Newspapers

New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the New York Times, including ads, reviews, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (1849-1997) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Defender Historical Archive (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from this prominent Black newspaper. Includes page images of the entire contents, such as classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). For more details see the About page.