This site lists the U.S. Post Office murals from the New Deal era that survive across the country. The list for Illinois includes about 7 post office branches in Chicago, as well as several other in surrounding suburbs.

This site lists the parks in Chicago that house WPA-era art. The descriptions of the pieces have been pulled from the Chicago Parks Department website. Also included are the location, artist, title and year of the pieces.

In The Press - CPS Murals

The Chicago Conservation Center invites you to visit some of the murals that were conserved for the City of Chicago across11 park district field houses.

This site lists the U.S. Post Office murals from the New Deal era that survive across the country. The list for Illinois includes about 7 post office branches in Chicago, as well as several other in surrounding suburbs.

This site lists the parks in Chicago that house WPA-era art. The descriptions of the pieces have been pulled from the Chicago Parks Department website. Also included are the location, artist, title and year of the pieces.

The Center for New Deal Studies features resources and activities that deepen our understanding of the lives of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, and of the social, economic, political, and cultural history of the New Deal era in American history.

The 100 works of art in this online collection represent the vision that artists of Illinois and elsewhere had about our culture in a time of economic depression and recovery.

The Illinois State Museum's Fine Arts Collection has many works created by Illinois artists as part of the New Deal art projects during the 1930s and 1940s. Hundreds of Illinois men and women participated in these projects and left a legacy of work that documents a period of Illinois art history. The works explored in this collection related to the ideas of: The American Scene, Social Realism, The American Worker, Modern Sensibility, and Stolen Moments.

Presented here are publicity and other documentary photographs from the Exposition. They form part of A Century of Progress Records, 1927-1952, housed in the Special Collections and University Archives Department, University of Illinois at Chicago Library.

The majority of post office murals are located in small towns across the country and Parma has been working on site in these towns for 15 years. In addition to conserving the murals, an important part of our work lies in public outreach, connecting with schools, historical societies, and the public at large. We encourage groups of students, of all ages, to visit us while we are working. This is a great opportunity for them to learn about New Deal art, the conservation process, and why this mural in their town is historically important.

Brief overview from Nick Taylor at the New York Times includes links to articles from the historical archives.

These historic works of art, 66 murals and two cast-stone fountain figures, date from two phases in the school’s history. Some were commissioned in 1908 by the Chicago Public School Art Society for Lane’s first building at Sedgwick and Division streets. Others were created during the Great Depression (1929-1942). These include murals from the Century of Progress (1933-34), given to the school’s new building at Addison Street and Western Avenue, and site-specific artwork authorized by the Works Progress Administration/Federal Art Project (1932-1943).