Research Guides: Costume Design: Image Resources

Image Resources

Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Transitioning to Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images. This resource will migrate to a new platform on June 1, 2024. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New Artstor platform. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Women's Wear Daily Archive (1910 - 1 year ago: Proquest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on the history and business of twentieth-century fashion through the digitized archive of WWD, the leading fashion-industry trade paper since 1910.

The Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Explore the collection online.
Fashion, Jewellery & Accessories at the V&A
The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe. The V&A collections also include accessories such as jewellery, gloves and handbags.
The Fashion Museum - Britain
The earliest pieces in the collection are embroidered shirts and gloves from about 1600.

Art Institute of Chicago: The Collection
Filter to "Public Domain" to discover works you can freely use.
Google Arts & Culture
Includes online collections from partner institutions.
The Getty, Los Angeles
Filter by "Open Content Images."
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City
Filter by "Open Access Artworks."
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Use the search "Everything" dropdown menu to search specifically for photos or other types of media. Many, but not all, images have no known copyright restrictions. Enlarge images of interest. Under "About this Image" see "Rights Advisory" for more information.
The National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
NGA Images is a collection of open access digital images.
The Louvre
More than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix.
British Museum Collection Online
The majority of the 1.9 million object images are available for anyone to use for free under a Creative Commons 4.0 license.
The Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam
Users can create their own online galleries.