It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this database for broad subject searches as it provides coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.
HathiTrust is a digital library providing access to millions of digitized books, journals, newspapers, and other various titles through partnerships with academic and research institutions. Use this resource for broad subject searches.
An architecture and landscape database of independent college and university campuses. This project presents information about significant buildings, landscapes, campus plans, and heritage sites of American higher education and identifies sources for further research.
A collection of Academic Catalogs for Columbia College of Expression and Columbia College from 1893 through 2010. Many provide detailed information about curriculum and offer a glimpse into Columbia’s past by providing information about courses, student resources, academic programs, and campus information.
This Architecture and Building History Resource, created by the Research Center at the Chicago History Museum, provides a wealth of information and lead to resources about architecture and building history.
Architectural Histories is an international, blind peer-reviewed scholarly journal that creates a space where historically grounded research into all aspects of architecture and the built environment can be made public, consulted, and discussed. The journal is open to historical, historiographic, theoretical, and critical contributions that engage with architecture and the built environment from a historical perspective.
The Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians features articles on American and international topics, reviews of recently-published books and architecture exhibitions with an intellectual context. It is an indispensable resource for architectural history, and it can be of interest to those in fields such as urban studies, history, and cultural studies.
An 1893 guidebook to the city of Chicago which provides information about the city's history, its businesses, hotels, restaurants, transportation services, notable buildings, parks, and other attractions.
Keating charts Chicago’s evolution with comprehensive, cross-referenced entries on all seventy-seven community areas, along with many suburbs and neighborhoods both extant and long forgotten, from Albany Park to Zion.
The third edition of this volume features more than a thousand buildings, more than four hundred photographs, and thirty-five maps, making it an invaluable tool for anyone interested in architecture, urban design, and what makes Chicago the stunning architectural city it is.
This volume explores the pivotal role of real estate developers, finance and insurance sectors, and speculative capital markets in the development of the city itself; and it examines a wide variety of overlooked architectural works and their creators.