Research Guides: Aesthetics for Theatre Makers: Place & Time Context

Explore by Decade

American Decades Series by Vincent Tompkins (Editor); Victor Bondi (Editor); Judith Baughman
Call Number: Stacks 973.9 A5125 - 5th floor. Also available online.
ISBN: 9780787650766
Social history and analysis in fashion, art, politics, social life, religion, and more, browsable one decade at a time from the 1900s through the 1990s.
American Decades Primary Sources by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Call Number: Available online.
ISBN: 9780787665876
Incudes oral histories, songs, speeches, ads, play and movie scripts, letters, newspaper articles, recipes, and more.

"How to Use American Decades" - created September 2020, 7 minutes.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large, user-friendly statistics portal with a global scope. Find infographics, in-depth dossiers and reports, and Powerpoint slides, along with original source details.

World Factbook
Information about the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for entities around the world.
U.N. Data
A keyword searchable database of over 60 million data records compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. Includes lists of country and regional profiles.
World Bank Open Data
A large collection of databases covering global development data.
World Bank Open Data by TOPIC
Browse by topic within World Bank Open Data.
World Statistics Pocketbook
Annual compilation of key statistical indicators prepared by the United Nations. Up to 50 indicators from more than 20 international statistical sources in one-page profiles for 30 world geographical regions and over 200 countries or areas of the world.
HINT: Download latest edition.

New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the New York Times, including ads, reviews, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (1849-1997) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Defender Historical Archive (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from this prominent Black newspaper. Includes page images of the entire contents, such as classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). For more details see the About page.