The Early Photography Curated Collection houses materials gathered for student educational purposes.
The collection contains examples of early photographic processes: daguerreotype; celluloid film; stereographic postcards; ambrotypes; tintypes; cabinet cards; and photographic albums.
Collected through purchase and donation by the Columbia College Chicago Library in the 1970s and 1980s, the material was selected in consultation with faculty from the Columbia College Chicago Photography Department for classroom instruction.
Curated collections are materials, generally physical objects, that have been intentionally gathered to form a collection focused on specific topics and which have been selected by Columbia College Chicago faculty or staff members in support of curricular, informative, or educational purposes.
The materials represent sample images from the various types of photographic processes held within the collection. The number in the description is the series and item number of the piece, found within the collection guide (below).
This downloadable guide describes the organization and scope of the Early Photography curated collection housed within the College Archives and Special Collections at Columbia College Chicago. This collection contains examples of early photographic processes: daguerreotype; celluloid film; stereographic postcards; ambrotypes; tintypes; cabinet cards; photographic albums; and viewing devices for the stereographs. Collected through purchase and donation by the Columbia College Chicago Library in the 1970s and 1980s, the material was selected in consultation with faculty of the Photography Department for classroom instruction.
Archie Lieberman Photography Collection | Special Collections
The Archie Lieberman Collection contains the work of a professional photojournalist from the 1950s to the early 2000s. His photographs appeared in magazines such as Look, Life, and Time and he worked for Black Star Agency and for corporations like Land’s End, Acme Steel, and Inland Steel.
The College Archives & Special Collections holds the definitive collection of Archie Lieberman material that chronicles the professional, creative life of this working photographer and author.
Milton Rogovin Mini Exhibit Photograph Collection | Finding Aid
This guide describes the organization and scope of the Milton Rogovin collection of two of his mini-exhibits, housed within the College Archives & Special Collections at Columbia College Chicago. Milton Rogovin (1909-2011) was a photographer who created projects "that communicated a just and equal society." Links on related materials for Milton Rogovin are provided.