An online exhibit from the Harry Ransom Center of the University of Texas-Austin built around a "heliograph," taken by Frenchman Joseph Nicéphore Niépce in 1826.

From the Graphics Atlas, this concise timeline includes examples of images made with various photographic processes.

This comprehensive timeline lets you explore art history, including photography, by date, geography, or theme.

Sections are devoted to primary source literature, the science and technology of albumen prints and implications for preservation.

The Society under Graphic Arts holds a diverse collection of American photography ranging in date from the 1830s to the 1920s. The collection is primarily organized by process such as daguerreotypes, ambrotypes, and cartes-de-visites, stereographs, tintypes, and ambrotypes.

This site has extensive information on the role of the photgravure in the history of photography. It includes information about key photographers, a detailed description of the photogravure process, a search-able database of early and contemporary photogravures, information about collecting photogravures, and a glossary of terms.

Part of a larger site of Victorian photograph exhibit catalogs, this page provides overviews of more than 50 terms related to photographic processing. Includes suggestions for additional reading and links to examples from exhibits.

Let Graphics Atlas guide you through individual prints in a virtual online study collection that contains processes ranging from woodcut to modern digital print. Learn more about the processes and what to look for in an image.

From the Library of Congress American Memory project, this collection includes more than 700 photographs taken between 1839 and 1864, including portraits and architectural photographs. The collection can be searched by keyword or browsed by subject.

Use the online catalog to search the holdings of the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Many of the images are available online. Collections can be search individually or as a group. Search by keyword or by author, title, subject, etc.

The photography collection includes many examples of early photographs, including 19th century photographs from around the world (Japan, India, Egypt, Syria, Russia). Guides are available for some collections.

Explore thousands of photographs in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—including books, writings, reference materials, and other resources. ★ Look for Columbia College Chicago photography faculty work -- past and present -- here as well.

Photographs in the digital collection are a selection of highlights from The Huntington's extensive photographic holdings, with a focus on California and the American West.

An international, inclusive and interdisciplinary quarterly journal devoted to the history, practice and theory of photography in all its definitions - artistic, scientific, commercial, and domestic; in archives, art galleries, and museums; on the page, on the wall, or on the screen.

An independent nonprofit museum dedicated to photography and motion pictures. The online collection includes digitized selections from the museum's extensive holdings.

This site provides an introduction to the museum's photography collection, 120 digitized selections from the museum's holdings organized in a rough chronology and extensive information on current and past exhibitions.

Organized around five themes dating back to the medium’s beginnings, this exhibition explores nineteenth-century photographs through the work of twenty-one contemporary artists. These interchanges between the first decades of the medium and the most recent invite us to reimagine nineteenth-century photography while exploring its complexities.

Books available on the history of photography, on photographic processes and identification. You can purchase them, or refer to them or check them out of a library. Also find free and inexpensive e-books available online to help with 19th and early 20th century photographic processes, formats, and various passing styles.

Explore the vast holdings of the Prints and Photographs Division at the Library of Congress—more than 14.5 million photos, posters, cartoons, architectural designs, and historical and fine art prints.

Using a blog format, the George Eastman House is publishing on a variety of topics, some related to early photography.

Jeff Curto, a Photography Professor Emeritus at the College of DuPage, makes his class lectures available via this Web site. See especially the two-part survey of the history of photography.

"The Missouri State Archives is offering a YouTube series on preserving photographs. The seven-part series includes information on how to identify certain types of photography, the inherent preservation challenges with each type of photograph, as well as processes on properly storing, handling and displaying them."