Images in this database serve as a powerful photographic resource “for the study of late nineteenth and early twentieth century history, culture, and attitudes." and come from many of the industry’s most notable pioneers providing “primary source documentation” of foundational techniques in filmmaking. More than 1,000 silent feature films, documentaries, serials, and shorts originally created from the 1890s to the 1930s can be explored here.
The Research Center of this "museum without walls" offers links to photo history sites. Learn about early photographic processes, photo preservation, and exhibits about the early days of photography, 1839 through WWI.
Thousands of photographs spanning the history of the medium. Indexed by both photographer and subject. An attraction of worldly distinction is the museum's collection of photographic and cinematographic technology. Explore the Technology Vault and see the oldest known Daguerreotype Camera sold in the US circa 1840. https://www.eastman.org/technology
THE HISTORY OF PHOTOGRAPHY RESEARCH MICROFILM COLLECTION
The growth of interest in photography as an art form and as a physical medium has created a need among scholars for many of the early texts and other long out-of-print reference materials on the subject.
The microfilm collection, History of Photography, is a comprehensive collection of materials for research and the study of the history, technology, and aesthetics of photography, ranging from purely technical, theoretical tracts on the physics of photography to rare photographs made by some of the pioneers in the field.
The core of the collection is drawn from the holdings of the International Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House. It also encompasses materials from the extensive collections of other prominent libraries, including those at the New York Public Library and in Columbia University’s Epstean Collection.