It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Early Photography collection at Columbia College Chicago College Archives and Special Collections dates from 1877 to 1922 (mostly 1894-1905) in 2.31 cubic feet.
The collection contains examples of early photographic processes ranging from daguerreotype (invented 1839) to celluloid film (invented 1888), with a strength in stereographic postcards ranging from 1894 to 1905.
The collection also includes ambrotypes, tintypes, cabinet cards, photographic albums, and viewing devices for the stereographs. The photographs in the collection feature common issues of aging, which help illustrate the physical processes of each photographic technique.
This downloadable guide describes the organization and scope of the Early Photography curated collection housed within the College Archives and Special Collections at Columbia College Chicago. This collection contains examples of early photographic processes: daguerreotype; celluloid film; stereographic postcards; ambrotypes; tintypes; cabinet cards; photographic albums; and viewing devices for the stereographs. Collected through purchase and donation by the Columbia College Chicago Library in the 1970s and 1980s, the material was selected in consultation with faculty of the Photography Department for classroom instruction.