Typography - Books | Inspiration - Graphic Design & Typography - Research Guides at Columbia College Chicago Library

Typography | Books

Typographic Design: Form and Communication

Available online

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 686.22 F911t

Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type

Available online

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 686.224 S179t 2019

The Essential Type Directory: A Sourcebook of Over 1,800 Typefaces and Their Histories

Available online

Typeset in the Future: Typography and Design in Science Fiction Movies

Available online

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 686.22 A223t

The Fundamentals of Typography

Available online

Graphic Design Rules: 365 Essential Dos and Don'ts

Available online

The Designer's Dictionary of Type

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 745.4 A217d

The Anatomy of Type: A Graphic Guide to 100 Typefaces

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 686.224 C689a

Exploring Typography

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 686.22 R116e 2016

The Complete Typographer: A Manual for Designing with Type

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 686.224 H648c 2010

Why Fonts Matter

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 686.224 H997w

The World's Best Type and Typography (Series)

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 741.6 T991

Bauhaus Typography At 100

Library location: Focused Collections 4th floor

Call number: 745.40943 B346L

Sign Painters | Book

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 659.1342 L665s

Typography | Inspiration

AIGA (American Institute of Graphic Arts)
AIGA is for design professionals in communication design, including graphic design, typography, interaction design, branding and identity. They offer resources on careers, design jobs, professional development and more. There is even an AIGA Chicago Chapter.
AIGA | Eye On Design
AIGA Eye on Design newsletter covers exciting designers—and the issues they care about. Open the menu to begin exploring.
Black Type Designers & Foundry Owners | Typographica
An attempt to begin to answer the frequent question “Where are the Black type designers?”
Mexican Type Design
The spirit and cultural heritage of Latin American type and typography authored by designer, Jan Middendorp.
Monotype
Monotype helps the world’s leading brands define, design and express their voices through a combined type library of modern unique fonts. Get a glimpse into the future of typography with the Annual Type Trends Report (see below).
Monotype | Type Trends 2024 Report
Typographic trendspotting from the Monotype Studio.
Monotype | A - Z Infographic of Typographic Terms
The language, lingo, words and terms that are used to discuss, critique and refine designs.
PRINT | Typography 2024 Report
Type is no longer about simple communication. Now, letterforms are chasing new soul-stirring ends that calm, enchant, thrill, humor, and mesmerize us.
I Love Typography
Designed to inspire and to make us more aware of the typography that’s around us.
Space Type Generator
Become hypnotised by Kiel Mutschelknaus’s Space Type Generator (STG) which is ‘a series of tools that allows users to create forms out of type’.
The Herb Lubalin Study Center of Design and Typography
An extensive archive of Herb Lubalin (1918–1981) drawings, promotional, editorial and advertising design, typeface design, posters, logos, and other materials dating from 1950 to 1981.
Typographica | Specimen Books of Metal & Wood Type
A review of typefaces and type books, with commentary on fonts and typographic design. Type specimen catalogs are time capsules of typographic history. Explore a directory of type catalogs available online here as well.
Type Tuesday | Print Magazine
A collection of inspiring typography, from letterpress to web fonts, and a few worthy tangents.
Sign Painters | Movie
Documents dedicated practitioners, their time-honored methods, and their appreciation for quality and craftsmanship. Sign Painters, is a history of the craft, featuring stories and photographs of more than two dozen sign painters working in cities throughout the United States.
Type With Pride
Gilbert -- A free font dedicated to the Queer activist and artist behind the Rainbow Flag.
Typography | NYC Pride
“Pride began as a protest, and we wanted to capture a typographic voice reminiscent of bold, eye-catching posters used by protestors. Designed in NYC, Knockout and Gotham pay homage to the brand’s roots, while providing the visual boldness necessary to amplify the community’s voices.”

Typography | Exhibitions

The Revolution Will Be Digitized: Typefaces from Emigre & FUSE | The Poster House
This show explored Emigre and FUSE through their posters announcing new, progressive digital typefaces.
The Daily Heller | An Exhibition That Looked at Racism in the (Type)Face
An exhibition of typeface designs by Tré Seals, "Characters: Type and Progress" featured seven Vocal Type fonts each triggered by moments in history reflecting racial, ethnic and gender inequity at The Branch Museum of Architecture and Design.
HMCT Gallery | Typography Exhibitions
The HMCT Gallery exhibitions display notable work in typography, letterform design, and visual communication.

Typography | Events

Typographic Realia: Wood Type as Historical Objects | The Newberry Library | In-Person + Zoom | ★ April 11, 2024 (6pm-7pm) ★
FREE EVENT: APRIL 11 --> Join David Shields as he explores how the study of a specific collection of wood type, and of its collector, reflects a broader network of relationships, objects, and research activities.
Inscript Festival 2023 | Brazen Type Experimentation
Highlights industry experts across typography, creative coding, phygital media, and more—from artificial intelligence to type knitting; from augmented realities to massive interactions in the physical landscape.
Ezhishin | Native North American Typography | Type Drives Culture Event
A virtual event showcasing lettering projects and typographic styles by Native designers hosted by the Type Directors Club.
more...less...
Named after the Ojibwe word for “s/he leaves a mark”, Ezhishin was developed to facilitate conversation around the typographic needs of First Nations/Native American communities.
Multilingue | Writing and Typography For Native Languages From Latin America | Type Drives Culture Event
Typeface design from North, Central and South America hosted by the Type Directors Club.

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Graphic Design & Typography

Subject Librarian