Research Guides: Graphic Design & Typography: Career Info

Professional Organizations & Career Info

Columbia College CAREER CENTER | In-Person & Virtual Services
The Career Center is available to assist you with career exploration, internship support, portfolio development, and student employment needs. Visit them online or phone ahead (312-369-7280) to make an appointment to stop by later at their location in the Student Center on the 3rd Floor of 754 S. Wabash.
Albert P. Weisman Award for Columbia College Students
For students - Assistance funding a creative project that is already underway.
more...less...
Congratulations to the 2023 Albert P. Weisman Recipients! An exhibition of the work was featured on display from November 8, 2023, through February 18, 2024, in the Student Center, 754 S. Wabash Avenue, 3rd Floor.
Columbia College Chicago | AK Prism Award
The award is given to an undergraduate student majoring in Art and Art History who demonstrates ambition and kindness in their creative practice.
AIGA Worldstudio SCHOLARSHIPS
Benefits underrepresented and economically disadvantaged students who are studying photography, illustration, and design disciplines in colleges and universities in the United States. Scholarships are awarded annually to encourage social and environmental responsibility and cultural awareness in the next generation of artists and designers.
AIGA (American Institute of Graphic Arts)
AIGA is for design professionals in communication design, including graphic design, typography, interaction design, branding and identity. They offer resources on careers, design jobs, professional development, mental health for designers and more. There is even an AIGA Chicago Chapter.
AIGA | Chicago
To unite, educate and advance the Chicago design community: Providing professional guidance, creating shared experiences and opportunities for collaborative engagement, delivering opportunities for professional growth for practitioners and students of design and related creative fields.
AIGA | Columbia College Chicago
Seeks to fulfill the needs of student designers by providing workshops, resources, networking, and design opportunities, AIGA CCC aims to help students expand their knowledge in all areas of design and the design industry. AIGA Columbia's meetings are open to all.
AIGA | Design Jobs
Membership is required to gain full access to job openings -- however, listings include brief profiles of design firms along with a link to their website.
Art & Design | Occupational Outlook Handbook
Covers quick facts, what the career involves, work environment, how to prepare, pay, projected job outlook and more for a variety of careers profiled.
Creative Hotlist | Communication Arts Magazine
A career resource for creative professionals in visual communications from Communication Arts magazine. Individuals can post resumes, job-wanted listings and online portfolios.
more...less...
Print issues of Communication Arts magazine that showcase the top work in graphic design, advertising, illustration, photography, interactive design and typography -- can be found in the Library's Periodicals Collection - 2nd floor--shelved alphabetically.
Data Visualization Society
A global non-profit organization offering a community for sharing ideas, learning, and best practices for data visualization design. A Free Starter Membership is offered as an introduction to the community.
Graphic Artists Guild
Whether a creative professional or studying to become one, the Graphic Artists Guild enables graphic artists and other design professionals to build and maintain successful careers.
more...less...
Publisher of the "Graphic Artists Guild Handbook of Pricing and Ethical Guidelines" (see Career Books below)
Interior Design Magazine | Creative Opportunities/Job Listings
Learn more about the design qualifications employers will be looking for in graphic design, industrial design, packaging, or related fields. Target to keyword, experience level, location preference, and internship opportunities.
International Society of Typographical Designers
Run by and for typographers, graphic designers and educators, the Society has an international membership who share and support its aim to create and inspire interest in all forms of typographic communication. Offers a video archive of previously hosted typographic conversational events.
One Club For Creativity | Job Board
SEGD | The Society for Experiential Graphic Design
Experiential graphic design involves the orchestration of typography, color, imagery, form, technology and, especially, content to create environments that communicate. Examples include wayfinding systems, architectural graphics, signage, exhibit design, retail design, and themed or branded spaces.
Society of Typographic Arts (STA)
STA was established in 1927 by Chicago’s leading professional designers, typographers, and printers to encourage excellence in the printing and publishing industries. The STA holds a Design Inspiration Weekend held in the greater Chicago area along with many other events and programs. There is even an Emerging Membership category available to students offering volunteer opportunities as one of the benefits.
TypeCon | The Society of Typographic Aficionados
For everyone who loves type & lettering, it brings together industry leaders, design professionals, educators, students and enthusiasts to learn, network, and share their passion for type. From the latest in type for the screen to the rich history of printing, experimental typography, education, and much more.
Type Directors Club
Established in 1946, TDC today curates a calendar of typographic intrigues designed to: 1) Build a community through public events and platforms, 2) Support the growth of students and early career professionals and 3) Recognize excellence in type design across the world. Membership/Interview Q&As are available with emphasis on type in culture.

Career Books

In Fulfillment: The Designer's Journey

Available Online

Real life examples: First day on the job, leading a team, new client meeting, and asks "How can our work [as designers] help guide us to fulfillment as people?"

Careers in Artificial Intelligence

Coming Fall

Each entry includes an interview with someone in the field.

Areas include: Crafts/Fine Art, Industrial Designer, Urban/Regional Planning, Advertising/Promotion/Marketing

Creating a Successful Graphic Design Portfolio

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 741.6023 L478c

Making It in the Art World: Strategies for Exhibitions and Funding | A Post-Pandemic Guide For Artists

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 702.3 C273m

So You Want to Work in a Museum?

Available online

Multimedia and Graphic Designers: A Practical Career Guide

Available online

Becoming A Successful Illustrator

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 741.6023 B827b 2017

Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines

Library location: Course Reserves 1st Floor

Call number: 741.6 G766g 2021

How to Be an Artist

Available online

Make Your Art No Matter What: Moving Beyond Creative Hurdles

Available online

Old in Art School: : A Memoir of Starting Over

Available online

Creativity: A Short and Cheerful Guide | John Cleese

Available online

The Ultimate Concept Art Career Guide

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 741.6 U47t

How to Be a Children's Book Illustrator: A Guide to Visual Storytelling

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 741.642 H227h

Art/Work: Everything You Need to Know (and Do) As You Pursue Your Art Career

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 702.3 B575a 2017

The AIGA Guide to Careers in Graphic and Communication Design

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 741.6023 A512c

How to Be a Design Student (and How to Teach Them)

Available online

The Creative Business Handbook: Follow Your Passions and Be Your Own Boss

Available online

Children's Illustration

Children's magazines are a great place for unpublished illustrators to break into the market. You might even work on a magazine project that develops into an idea for a children's book. If your interest lies in children's magazine illustration -- these are a few online titles the Library offers. For more information, you may wish to consult the Children's Writer's & Illustrator's Market below.

The Library's collection of children's books are located on the 3rd Floor on the Michigan Avenue side near the windows.

Highlights For Children
For children ages 6-12. Dedicated to helping children grow in basic skills and knowledge, in creativeness, in an ability to think and reason, in sensitivity to others, and high ideals.
Jack and Jill: The Magazine for Boys and Girls
An award-winning magazine for children ages 6-12. The pages are designed to spark a child’s curiosity in a wide range of topics through articles, games, and activities.
Ladybug
An imaginative magazine with art and literature for young children ages 3 to 6.

Children's Writer's & Illustrator's Market
Call Number: > > > E-Book
A trusted guide for anyone who seeks to illustrate for kids and young adults. If you're an illustrator for young readers and your goal is to get published, in this book, you'll find more than 500 listings for children's book markets, including publishers, literary agents, magazines, contests, and more. These listings include a point of contact, how to properly submit your work, and what categories each market accepts.
A History of Children's Books in 100 Books
For those interested in illustration arts, and for students of children's literature, its history, and the history of books, it traces the genre from Aesop's Fables to Harry Potter to books as technology.

THE ERIC CARLE MUSEUM OF PICTURE BOOK ART | Museum At Home
The Museum At Home section is filled with old and new picture book art to inspire you through online events, programs, and resources that are the next best thing to a visit to the museum.

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Graphic Design & Typography

Need Help?

Professional Organizations & Career Info

Career Books

In Fulfillment: The Designer's Journey

Careers in Artificial Intelligence

Creating a Successful Graphic Design Portfolio

Making It in the Art World: Strategies for Exhibitions and Funding | A Post-Pandemic Guide For Artists

So You Want to Work in a Museum?

Multimedia and Graphic Designers: A Practical Career Guide

Becoming A Successful Illustrator

Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines

How to Be an Artist

Make Your Art No Matter What: Moving Beyond Creative Hurdles

Old in Art School: : A Memoir of Starting Over

Creativity: A Short and Cheerful Guide | John Cleese

The Ultimate Concept Art Career Guide

How to Be a Children's Book Illustrator: A Guide to Visual Storytelling

Art/Work: Everything You Need to Know (and Do) As You Pursue Your Art Career

The AIGA Guide to Careers in Graphic and Communication Design

How to Be a Design Student (and How to Teach Them)

The Creative Business Handbook: Follow Your Passions and Be Your Own Boss

Children's Illustration