Research Guides: Fashion Studies: Fashion Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Fashion Studies Department | DEI Sharepoint Site | FASHION FOR ALL

Fashion For All
Discover resources for: Race and Ethnicity, Sexual Orientation, Different Abilities, Size Inclusiveness, Gender and Intersectionality, Curriculum and Classroom along with Additional Bias and Race Resources.
Note: Permission to access this site may initially require sending a request for approval.

Databases

Women's Wear Daily Online (WWD) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the Women's Wear Daily website. Only 10 Columbia users can access the website at one time.
Note: Register for an account using your Columbia College email address: https://subscriptions.pmc.com/register/wwd/0010b00002VlCNPAA3

Fashion and Race Newsletter | * No Database Subscription Required *
Get In The Know! Sign up with your email address. [Bottom of the page -- Right Side]
Be the first to know about the latest snapshot of news related to fashion and race along with stories told from a scholarly perspective.

E-Books

Fashion Education: The Systemic Revolution

Available online

Black Designers in American Fashion

Available online

Fashion Before Plus-Size: Bodies, Beauty and the Birth of an Industry

Available online

Fashion and Age: Dress, the Body and Later Life

Available online

Fabulous: The Rise of the Beautiful Eccentric

Available online

Latin American Fashion Reader

Available online and

Book Library location: 3rd Floor

Call number: 391.0098 L357r

Designing the Domestic Posthuman

Available online

The Birth of Cool: Style Narratives of the African Diaspora

Available online

Ageing and Youth Cultures: Music, Style and Identity

Available online

Fat Fashion : The Thin Ideal and the Segregation of Plus-Size Bodies

Available online

Decolonizing Design: A Cultural Justice Guidebook

Available online

The Intersection of Fashion and Disability

Available online and

Book Library location: 3rd Floor

Call number: 646.401 A614i

Fashion, Agency, and Empowerment

Available online

Books

Fashion Design For Living

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746.92 F248gw

Sustainability and Social Change in Fashion

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746.92 B967s

Presumed Incompetent II: Race, Class, Power, and Resistance of Women in Academia

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 378.12082 P942f2

Demystifying Disability: What to Know, What to Say, and How to be an Ally

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 305.908 L153d

Whiter: Asian American Women on Skin Color and Colorism

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 305.800973 W594k

Journals

Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Stands alone as a source of news, information and insightful commentary on a wide range of issues concerning diversity in American higher education. Provides in-depth and up-to-date coverage of the diverse education community with information that is of particular interest to African Americans, Native Americans, Asian and Hispanic Americans, Americans with disabilities, and women.
more...less...
https://www.diverseeducation.com/magazine

Fashion Articles | Trends | Infographics

Mintel | Sample Fashion and Diversity Search
Market Intelligence reports, analytics and trends delivering all the data you need and telling you what it means. Learn how fashion trends are becoming more diverse, inclusive and gender-fluid in their branding, marketing campaigns and more.
★ Note: You must check the Agree To Terms of Use box ★
Statista | U.S. Consumers Who Find Diverse Models For Apparel Very Important
Share of consumers in the United States who personally think having diverse models is very important when shopping for apparel by generation.
The Fashion Spot | Magazine Covers | Racial Diversity
In 2021, The Fashion Spot, found magazine covers were the most racially diverse on record.
British Vogue | African Fashion and 'Beauty of Black Women' Issue (Print Magazine)
The women featured on the cover of a recent issue of British Vogue are all working together to create change within the modeling industry, and they’re doing so powerfully as each of the models on the cover is African.

Fashion Industry Reports

Diversity Report | The Fashion Spot
Embraces the changing face of fashion by advocating for diversity and body positivity. Translates both fashion and beauty trends so everyone can implement them in the real world and live their most stylish life.
The State of DEI in Fashion Today | March 2022
For the one-year anniversary after the release of the 2021 report, a candid conversation was organized iin 2022 between two leading figures – CFDA president CaSandra Diggs and PVH chief diversity officer and Senior Vice President, Global Talent Acquisition, Lance LaVergne – to discuss the changing state of diversity, equity, and inclusion in fashion.
State of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion In Fashion | February 2021
Building on the 2019 report below -- the data shows the experiences and structural challenges of inequity and outlines actions the industry can take in six key areas of opportunity: awareness, access, promotion, advocacy, compensation and belonging. - CFDA/PVH
Insider/Outsider Report | Inclusion & Diversity in the American Fashion Industry | January 2019
Examines the roles of Inclusion and Diversity in the current state of American fashion. The emphasis pertains to all areas of inclusion and diversity, among them: abilities, age, gender, race/ethnicity and sexual orientation. - CFDA/PVH

Organizations

Global Organizations
A listing of organizations working in DEI and sustainable fashion to raise awareness, educate, and understand the impact of clothing and its influence on the global fashion industry.
Fashion For All Foundation (FFAF)
A mission to promote equality and diversity through education and empowerment in the fashion industry. FFAF is one of many organizations using Instagram as a vehicle for change, accountability and direct engagement with the fashion community.
Runway of Dreams Foundation
Empowers people with disabilities to have confidence and self-expression through fashion and beauty inclusion. The Foundation raises awareness, educates consumers, advocates for industry change, develops the next generation of design innovators and provides access to fashionable adaptive apparel.

GENERAL Academic DEI Resources | Columbia College Chicago

WIRED TO WEAR | Chicago Exhibit | Museum of Science + Industry

Wired to Wear is the first-ever exhibit dedicated to wearable technology—smart clothing and devices designed to extend the human body’s capabilities and make us healthier, stronger and safer. Features more than 100 inventions from brands, designers, engineers and artists across 15 countries, representing the most innovative ideas in this emerging field.

MUSEUM EXHIBITIONS

COLLEGIATE FASHION AND ACTIVISM | Black Women’s Styles on the College Campus | Iowa State University | Textiles and Clothing Museum
This 2020 exhibition catalog documents the entirety of the exhibit and the associated programming.
NOTE: The free exhibition catalog is included.
THE NEW BLACK VANGUARD: Photography Between Art and Fashion | Detroit Institute of Arts
Vibrant color portraits, conceptual images, and fashion editorial photographs by Black photographers were the subject of this exhibition (in collaboration with the Aperture Foundation) that fused the genres of art and fashion photography in ways that break down their long-established boundaries.
more...less...
Preview selected images online or check out the exhibition catalog at the Library featured below.

EXHIBITION CATALOG | The New Black Vanguard: Photography Between Art and Fashion
Preview selected image highlights from the exhibition with the online link above or check out the accompanying exhibition's catalog from the Library.

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Fashion Studies

Keyword Ideas For Further Research

Fashion Studies Department | DEI Sharepoint Site | FASHION FOR ALL

Databases

E-Books

Fashion Education: The Systemic Revolution

Black Designers in American Fashion

Fashion Before Plus-Size: Bodies, Beauty and the Birth of an Industry

Fashion and Age: Dress, the Body and Later Life

Fabulous: The Rise of the Beautiful Eccentric

Latin American Fashion Reader

Designing the Domestic Posthuman

The Birth of Cool: Style Narratives of the African Diaspora

Ageing and Youth Cultures: Music, Style and Identity

Fat Fashion : The Thin Ideal and the Segregation of Plus-Size Bodies

Decolonizing Design: A Cultural Justice Guidebook

The Intersection of Fashion and Disability

Africa in Fashion

Fashioning the Afropolis

Fashion, Agency, and Empowerment

Books

Fashion Design For Living

Sustainability and Social Change in Fashion

Presumed Incompetent II: Race, Class, Power, and Resistance of Women in Academia

Demystifying Disability: What to Know, What to Say, and How to be an Ally

Whiter: Asian American Women on Skin Color and Colorism

Journals

Fashion Articles | Trends | Infographics

Fashion Industry Reports

Organizations

GENERAL Academic DEI Resources | Columbia College Chicago

WIRED TO WEAR | Chicago Exhibit | Museum of Science + Industry

MUSEUM EXHIBITIONS