Research Guides: Fashion Studies: Twentieth Century Trends

Best tools for getting started

New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the New York Times, including ads, reviews, obituaries, and comics.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth background information on current issues. CHRONOLOGIES allow you to see important developments on an issue over past decades.

Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New Artstor platform. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (1849-1997) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Defender Historical Archive (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from this prominent Black newspaper. Includes page images of the entire contents, such as classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.