Skip to Main Content
Library
Columbia College Chicago
Library
Toggle navigation
Research
Services
Events & Exhibitions
News
Help
About the Library
Library Account
Ask a Librarian:
Email
|
312 369 7900
|
FAQ
Hours
Study Rooms
Equipment
Printing
Columbia College Chicago Library
Research Guides
African American History and Culture to 1860 (1865)
Anti-Slavery and Abolitionist Movements
Search this Guide
Search
African American History and Culture to 1860 (1865)
This guide is designed to support students in HIST 251 with Melanie Chambliss for Fall 2020
Home
Transatlantic Slave Trade
Slavery in the Colonies
Slave Narratives
Civil Records, Laws, and Courts
Runaways and Rebellions
Anti-Slavery and Abolitionist Movements
Photos and Images
Other Databases and Digital Collections
Understanding & Using Primary Sources
Finding Books and Articles
Citations
Anti-Slavery and Abolitionist Digital Collections
Antislavery Pamphlet Collection
Black Abolitionist Digital Archive
A collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period
Boston Public Library Anti-Slavery Collection
Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress
James Birney Collection of Anti-Slavery Pamplets
Quakers and Slavery
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
Wilbur H. Siebert Underground Railroad Collection
Abolitionist Newspapers
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized Newspapers from the Library of Congress covering 1793-1963. Includes both abolitionists papers from the Northern States and pro-slavery publications from the Southern States.
Frederick Douglass Newspapers, 1847 to 1874
Freedom's Journal
The Friend of Man
Harper's Weekly
The Liberator Files
<<
Previous:
Runaways and Rebellions
Next:
Photos and Images >>
