Art and Architecture in Video, an online streaming film collection, delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design.
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the The most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
GreenFILE offers access to information about the human impacts on the environment. It includes content regarding the actions of individuals, corporations and governments impact the environment and how their negative effects can be minimized. Some topics covered are global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Online access for Columbia College Chicago users
Provides original insights and advice from professionals in green career fields. Includes web addresses for associations, discussion groups, job boards, and companies in each chapter. Lists relevant job sites and online references.
Defines sustainable design as the art of designing physical objects to comply with the principles of economic, social, and ecological sustainability. Can sustainability be applied to any design work, whether it’s jewelry or architecture? What exactly does it mean to take a sustainable approach to design?
Features examples of sustainable design in architecture, fashion design, and graphic design and printing.
Our programs combine unique insight into global trends and local needs with a comprehensive approach to design. We encourage participants to conceive and apply transformative strategies based on a crucial synthesis of whole systems thinking, Nature's fundamental principles, and an ethically driven worldview.
Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum is the only museum in the nation devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary design. Explore its many collections and exhibits, including sustainable design.