Research Guides: Sustainable Design: Fashion, Textiles, and Fabrics

Subject Specific Databases

Sourcing Journal
A premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing, manufacturing and sustainability with coverage of global market conditions.

WGSN This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) is a leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries.
Women's Wear Daily Online (WWD) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the Women's Wear Daily website. Only 10 Columbia users can access the website at one time.
Note: Register for an account using your Columbia College email address.
- - - > WWD Presents ★ ★ ★ SUSTAINABILITY SCENE ★ ★ ★ Every Wednesday in the Digital Daily
The need-to-know sustainability news, in-depth reporting and industry insight. Stay up to date with coverage addressing business sustainability, material innovation, ESG, social impact and more.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large, user-friendly statistics portal with a global scope. Find infographics, in-depth dossiers and reports, and Powerpoint slides, along with original source details.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reports on consumer markets and products in U.S., related demographic data and analysis, and articles on trends in global consumer markets.

Fashion Study Collection
618 South Michigan Building of Columbia College, 8th floor
Established in 1989, this collection is an academic and inspirational resource supporting teaching and learning across disciplines through the exploration of dress and its relationship to history, culture, art, design, business, and technology. It also houses fashion accessories, advertisements, books, periodicals, visual media and other reference materials. It is available by appointment.

Websites

CFDA Sustainability Resource Directory | The Council of Fashion Designers of America
Browse this open-knowledge sharing Directory with a streamlined choice navigation guide featuring 400+ new and updated fashion eco-system listings categorized by -- Organizations + Alliances -- Initiatives + Agendas, and Learning + Development.
The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Guide To Sustainable Strategies (PDF)
Seeks to provide a “how to” overview for sustainable fashion. The guide’s goal is to take the complex idea of sustainability and simplify it into clear, digestible resources and actions, available to all. Authored by Domenica Leibowitz,
Centre for Sustainable Fashion (UK)
Centre for Sustainable Fashion (CSF) is a University of the Arts (UAL) research centre based at London College of Fashion. It explores fashion’s relational ecological, social, economic and cultural elements to contribute to sustainability in and through its artistic, business and educational practices.
Inhabitat
Guide to ideas, innovations and emerging trends in eco fashion, sustainable style, organic beauty and ethical apparel.
Fair Trade USA
Fair Trade USA includes environmental impact as one of its central concerns along with fair pay and workers rights.
Fashion For Good
Fashion For Good publishes open-source circular fashion apparel tools, guides, reports and thought leadership pieces. They invite everyone from designers and material suppliers to manufacturers and customers to learn more about how they can embrace and contribute to a Good Fashion future.
Greenpeace: Detox My Fashion
A campaign to detox the clothing industry – with investigations and reports.
Project Cece
An online search engine for fair and sustainable fashion that collects the products of different ethical brands and stores to assist in finding sustainable clothing.
Responsibility in Fashion
A 501(c)(3) nonprofit bringing together sustainable, conscious, ethical, circular and eco fashion organizations and government programs toward the goal of energizing and bringing innovation to the growing movement toward clean, safe and ethical fashion.
Sustainable Apparel Coalition
The Sustainable Apparel Coalition’s vision is of an apparel, footwear, and textile industry that produces no unnecessary environmental harm and has a positive impact on the people and communities associated with its activities.
NRDC | Data, Reports & Resources
Aims to work to safeguard the earth—its people, its plants and animals, and the natural systems on which all life depends. Contains a wide range of reports and fact sheets to increase access to knowledge about how everyone can be a catalyst for change. (Natural Resources Defense Council)
Greenwash
Shows a variety of tactics that brands use to overstate the use of green credentials.
Changing Markets Foundation
A mission to drive change toward a more responsible economy.
Sustainable Fashion Playbook | United Nations Environment Program
A 91-page downloadable playbook including the "do's" and "don'ts" of sustainable fashion. Features practical tools and resources.

Books

Accelerating Sustainability in Fashion, Clothing and Textiles

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 338.47687 A169c

Sustainable Fashion: Responsible Consumption, Design, Fabrics, and Materials

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 658.4083 F248s

Sustainability and Social Change in Fashion

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746.92 B967s

Designing Fashion's Future: Present Practice and Tactics for Sustainable Change

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746.92 P346d

A Practical Guide to Sustainable Fashion

Available online

Fibershed: Growing a Movement of Farmers, Fashion Activists, and Makers for a New Textile Economy

Available online

Fashionopolis: The Price of Fast Fashion and the Future of Clothes

Available online

The Dangers of Fashion: Towards Ethical and Sustainable Solutions

Available online

Fashion Industry 2030: : Reshaping the Future Through Sustainability and Responsible Innovation

Available online

Made in China

Available online

Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746.92 G562g

Sustainability in Luxury Fashion Business

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 687 S964L

Fashion Fibers: Designing for Sustainability

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 677.022 G973f

Textiles and Fashion: From Fabric Construction to Surface Treatments

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746 U18t 2023

Fashion & Sustainability : Design For Change

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746.92 F613f

Making Jeans Green: Linking Sustainability, Business and Fashion

Library location: 3rd floor

Call number: 338.47687 S998m

Sustainable Fashion: Take Action

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 746.92 S964u

Zero Waste Fashion Design

Available online

Braiding Sweetgrass

Available online

Glossaries | Articles

CONDE NAST | The Sustainable Fashion Glossary
An easy-to-use guide, divided into categories which relate to sustainability in fashion: its cultures, materials, production, buying habits and care practices.
VOGUE | India - 10 Sustainability Words and Phrases
Find a breakdown of the eco-terminology used by brands to assist in making informed choices.
VOGUE | India - Vogue's Guide To Building a Mindful Wardrobe and Shopping Consciously
Ways to make a difference by making thoughtful sustainable fashion choices without compromising on style.
VOGUE | India -- 3 sustainable designers you need to know from SS24
Features a wave of new sustainability-minded designers showing what can be done with pre-existing materials, as well as highlighting the importance of craftsmanship and preserving traditions.

Streaming

RiverBlue: Can Fashion Save the Planet? (52 minutes)

Available online

The True Cost (92 minutes)

Available online

Made In Bangladesh (95 minutes)

Available online

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Sustainable Design

Subject Guide

Subject Specific Databases

Websites

Books

Accelerating Sustainability in Fashion, Clothing and Textiles

Sustainable Fashion: Responsible Consumption, Design, Fabrics, and Materials

Sustainability and Social Change in Fashion

Designing Fashion's Future: Present Practice and Tactics for Sustainable Change

A Practical Guide to Sustainable Fashion

Fibershed: Growing a Movement of Farmers, Fashion Activists, and Makers for a New Textile Economy

Fashionopolis: The Price of Fast Fashion and the Future of Clothes

The Dangers of Fashion: Towards Ethical and Sustainable Solutions

Fashion Industry 2030: : Reshaping the Future Through Sustainability and Responsible Innovation

Made in China

Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion

Sustainability in Luxury Fashion Business

Fashion Fibers: Designing for Sustainability

Textiles and Fashion: From Fabric Construction to Surface Treatments

Fashion & Sustainability : Design For Change

Making Jeans Green: Linking Sustainability, Business and Fashion

Sustainable Fashion: Take Action

Zero Waste Fashion Design

Braiding Sweetgrass

Glossaries | Articles

Streaming

RiverBlue: Can Fashion Save the Planet? (52 minutes)

The True Cost (92 minutes)

Made In Bangladesh (95 minutes)