Research Guides: Theatre: Get Started

Best Bets

Drama Online
Includes hundreds of plays in these collections: Aurora Metro Books, L.A. Theatre Works, Nick Hern Books, Oberon Books, Playwrights Canada Press, TCG Playbooks.
Digital Theatre Plus
Live performances in high quality video, with content from leading global producers, and a distinctive range of curriculum-linked educational resources such as exclusive interviews, full transcripts, and in-depth study guides.
Access note: For full functionality, please be sure your Google Chrome browser is updated to the latest version (available October 26) before December 6, 2022. Most devices using the Chrome browser will update automatically.

Available online

Library location: 812.54 N918i (5th floor)

Library location: Scores Collection--5th floor ; 782.14 M134h

DVD available in the library's media collection -- ask at the 1st floor desk

Streaming online

Digital Theatre Plus
Live performances in high quality video, with content from leading global producers, and a distinctive range of curriculum-linked educational resources such as exclusive interviews, full transcripts, and in-depth study guides.
Access note: For full functionality, please be sure your Google Chrome browser is updated to the latest version (available October 26) before December 6, 2022. Most devices using the Chrome browser will update automatically.
Drama Online: L.A. Theatre Works
More than 400 professionally recorded audio plays, including those from leading American playwrights.
Theatre in Video
Contains hundreds of videos, including interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with live performances.
Royal Shakespeare Company
Video recordings of 30 productions by the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Featured Videos: Stephen Sondheim
Videos include filmed productions and interviews.

Drama Online
Includes hundreds of plays in these collections: Aurora Metro Books, L.A. Theatre Works, Nick Hern Books, Oberon Books, Playwrights Canada Press, TCG Playbooks.
Drama Texts Collection
Includes: American Drama, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, Contemporary World Drama, English Drama, Latin American Drama, North American Indian Drama, North American Women’s Drama, 20th Century Drama, and 20th Century North American Drama.
New Play Exchange
The world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers.

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance w/ Full Text
Journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations covering all aspects of theatre and performance for more than 126 countries.
Humanities International Complete
This resource provides full text of journals, books, and other published humanities sources from around the world.
JSTOR
Academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literature Criticism
Includes: Contemporary Literary Criticism; Drama Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Shakespearean Criticism; Short Story Criticism; and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

Internet Broadway Database
Created by the Research Department of The Broadway League, the national trade association for Broadway.
Internet Off-Broadway Database
The Lortel Archives, also known as the Internet Off-Broadway Database, provide a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.

Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of the English language, featuring 600,000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1,000 years of English.
Oxford Reference Library Collection
Database of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater, and dance resources by subject, title, or name.

The Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Explore the collection online.
Fashion, Jewellery & Accessories at the V&A
The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe. The V&A collections also include accessories such as jewellery, gloves and handbags.
The Fashion Museum - Britain
The earliest pieces in the collection are embroidered shirts and gloves from about 1600.
Fashion Studies Research Guides