Research Guides: Music Through the Ages, from Chant to R&amp;B: Getting Started

Getting Started with the Library Website

"Getting Started with the Library Website." Recorded September 2020, 5 minutes.

Women composers : music through the ages by Glickman, Sylvia.; Schleifer, Martha Furman
Publication Date: 1996-
v. 1. Composers born before 1599 -- v. 2. Composers born 1600-1699 -- v. 3. Composers born 1700 to 1799 : keyboard music -- v. 4. Composers born 1700-1799 : vocal music -- v. 5. Composers born 1700-1799 : large and small instrumental ensembles -- v. 6. Composers born 1800-1899 -- v. 7. Composers born 1800-1899 : vocal music --v. 8. Composers Born 1800-1899: Large and Small Instrumental Ensembles.

Bloomsbury Music & Sound This link opens in a new window
Provides access to exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship, and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource provides full text of journals, books, and other published humanities sources from around the world.
New York Times (Proquest) (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable databases with full-text article access. Browse by issue or search and filter (by location, document type, date, etc.).
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses.
Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
An account of the evolution of Western classical music, with search and browse functionality.

Early Music Sources
The aim of Early Music Sources is to simplify the access to the vast amount of online early music sources. The sources database as well as the iconography database enable quick search and gateway to sources according to various categories.
more...less...
Features a YouTube series dealing with various topics relating to early music and Early Music Sources PIE (=please in English), that supports the translations and online free publication of sources that were never translated or published in our times.
The National Jukebox
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives.
NPR Music
National Public Radio's music section includes interviews, sessions, lists, reviews, All Songs Considered, well crafted articles; it's a veritable feast of music discovery.
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Multitude of resources including: lesson plans. downloadable activity sheets, presentations, videos, playlists, digitized primary source materials from the Library and Archives.
This is RnB
The home of R&B. Updated daily with new music, videos, lyrics, playlists, interviews, performances, reviews & more.