Research Guides: History: Get Started

Subject Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and peer-reviewed articles across a wide range of subject areas.
Chicago Defender Historical Archive (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from this prominent Black newspaper. Includes page images of the entire contents, such as classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (1849-1997) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Harper's Weekly (1857-1912) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journals, magazines, reference books, and thousands of primary
source documents.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the New York Times, including ads, reviews, obituaries, and comics.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Video content covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania with wide geographical and chronological coverage.

Selected History Reference Books

The Historical Statistics of the United States by Susan B. Carter (Editor); Scott Sigmund Gartner (Editor); Michael R. Haines (Editor); Alan L. Olmstead (Editor); Richard Sutch (Editor); Gavin Wright (Editor)
ISBN: 0511132972
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
The Color of Time: A New History of the World: 1850-1960
Call Number: > > > E-Book
The Color of Time spans more than one hundred years of world history--from the reign of Queen Victoria and the American Civil War to the Cuban Missile Crisis and the beginning of the Space Age.
History of Humanity | 5 Volumes
The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
Kathryn Cullen-DuPont
Chronology of American Indian History
Liz Sonneborn
Chronology of World History
Helicon Editors
Oral History in the Visual Arts
Matthew Partington (Editor); Linda Sandino (Editor)

American History Websites

National History Collections

Library of Congress | Digital Collections: Explore items digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress
America's Historical Documents: Bill of Rights, Declaration of Independence, and others

Local History Collections

Illinois Archival Repositories - Lists repositories located with the state
UNCAP -Uncovering New Chicago Archives Project
Chicago Collections Consortium - Hosts a list of archive and manuscript collections relating to Chicago history and culture held at a dozen city repositories.

Subject Websites

History of Rome /Titus Livy (59 BC to 17 AD)
Livy, a Roman historian, documented the early history of the Rome and the Roman people.
Civil War Diaries & Letters
A crowdsourced project by University of Iowa to transcribe American Civil War materials for online research
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s
Dickenson College Archives and Millersville University Archives digital material relating to these topics from nineteenth century United States.
First World War Digitised Collections - British National Archives
Material relating to WWI as told through primary material produced by the men and women who were involved.
A Guide to World War I Materials - Library of Congress
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to World War I, including photographs, documents, newspapers, films, sheet music, and sound recordings.
World War II London Blitz Bomb Map
An interactive map of London showing where German bombs landed over the course of eight months during World War II.
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement
A digital archive from the Bancroft Library of Berkeley University.
Columbia College Chicago History
Contains information about College history and the other collections held in its College Archives.
Picturing Byzantine-Istanbul, 1930-1947
Nicholas V. Artamonoff, while a student at Roberts College in Istanbul, photographed Byzantine remains found in the city.
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Documents Cesar Chavez and the Farmworker Movement from 1962 until 1993 in this online resource produced by University of San Diego Library.

Library

Ask a Librarian:

History

Need Help?

Subject Databases

Selected History Reference Books

American History Websites

Subject Websites