Research Guides: Theatre Foundations: Historical Articles

Historical Magazines

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Women's Wear Daily Archive (1910 - 1 year ago: Proquest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on the history and business of twentieth-century fashion through the digitized archive of WWD, the leading fashion-industry trade paper since 1910.

Recorded August 2020, 2 minutes.

***Full access - no paywall!***

Available magazines include:

New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the New York Times, including ads, reviews, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (1849-1997) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Defender Historical Archive (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from this prominent Black newspaper. Includes page images of the entire contents, such as classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). For more details see the About page.