Research Guides: Literature: Literary Magazines

Listings of Magazines & Journals

Poets & Writers: Literary Magazines
A national listing of literary magazines, searchable by genre, subgenre, format, and payment.
NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines
An up-to-date listing of online, print, and electronic literary journals covering a wide variety of genres, themes, and styles.

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Information on journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore.

American Poetry Review
Available online.
Conjunctions
Available online. Some issues available in the Periodicals Collection on the 2nd floor of the library.
Iowa Review
Available online. Some issues available in the Periodicals Collection on the 2nd floor of the library.
The Kenyon Review
Available online.
Paris Review
Available online.
Ploughshares
Available online. Some issues available in the Periodicals Collection on the 2nd floor of the library.
Poetry
Available online. Some issues available in the Periodicals Collection on the 2nd floor of the library.
Tin House (ended publication 2018)
Some issues available in the Periodicals Collection on the 2nd floor of the library.

Electric Literature
A nonprofit digital publisher with the mission to make literature more exciting, relevant, and inclusive.
Hypertext Magazine & Hypertext Review
Indie press publishing fiction and essays, in print and online.
The Millions
An online magazine offering coverage on books, arts, and culture since 2003.
Catapult
An independent daily digital magazine featuring original essays, fiction, poetry, and art from thousands of contributors and columnists.
The Rumpus
An online magazine dedicated to pop culture, with emphasis on literary arts.
The Masters Review
An online and in print publication celebrating new and emerging writers.
Literary Hub
Includes personal and critical essays, interviews, and book excerpts.