Research Guides: Finding, Citing, &amp; Using Images: Art, Architecture & Design

Image Databases

Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New Artstor platform. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Architecture & Interior Design for 20th Century America - Gottscho-Schleisner Collection from Library of Congress
The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures.
Built In America - HABS and HAER Collections from Library of Congress
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.
Catena
Catena, the Digital Archive of Historic Gardens + Landscapes, contains nearly 2000 images focused on the villa as a landscape type that may be searched and browsed on a variety of terms.
AIGA Design Archives
Selections from AIGA's annual design competitions. Included in this resource are more than 20,000 selections from AIGA’s annual juried design competitions dating from 1924 through the present
Chicago Design Archives
The Society of Typographic Arts updates this Archive annually with new material from Chicago designers through its Archive Show, the annual competition developed to recognize outstanding achievement in Chicago graphic design.