Newspaper Searching - Defending Democracy - CCCX 399 - Research Guides at Columbia College Chicago Library

Major U.S. Newspapers

"Search within a Specific Newspaper," recorded August 2020, 5 minutes.

Los Angeles Times (1996-present) This link opens in a new window
A daily newspaper based in California. It is the largest American newspaper not headquartered on the East Coast.
New York Times (Proquest) (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable databases with full-text article access. Browse by issue or search and filter (by location, document type, date, etc.).
New York Times Magazine (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
A magazine supplement included with the Sunday edition of The New York Times. It features articles longer than those typically in the newspaper.
New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the New York Times, including ads, reviews, obituaries, and comics.

"Historical Newspaper Archives: Chicago Tribune," recorded November 2017, 3 minutes.

Wall Street Journal Online (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
An American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.
Washington Post (ProQuest) (1987-present) This link opens in a new window
An American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. It is a key source of news on the U.S. Congress, White House, Supreme Court, and national politics.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 6,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. Offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides premium U.S. news content, both current and back to the 1980s. Exclusive access to AP Newswire, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and many other major, regional, and local news sources.