Research Guides: Critical Editions in Literature: Oscar Wilde and British Aestheticism: Columbia Library Resources

COVE Studio [Temporarily unavailable due to system upgrade] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this platform to create course anthologies and annotate texts.

Historical Periodicals

New York Times Historical Archive (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the New York Times, including ads, reviews, obituaries, and comics.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (1849-1997) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). For more details see the About page.

Harper's Weekly (1857-1912) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

A Non-Comprehensive Selection of Books

Oscar Wilde: A Certain Genius

Available on the 5th floor

The Modern Art of Influence and the Spectacle of Oscar Wilde

Available online

The Man Who Was Dorian Gray

Available on the 5th floor

Beauty's Body: femininity and representation in British aestheticism

Available on the 3rd floor

Trials of Oscar Wilde

Available on the 5th floor

Oscar Wilde and the Poetics of Ambiguity

Available on the 5th floor

Studying Oscar Wilde

Available online

The Cambridge Companion to Oscar Wilde

Available on the 5th floor

Literary Criticism

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes: Contemporary Literary Criticism; Drama Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Shakespearean Criticism; Short Story Criticism; and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource provides full text of journals, books, and other published humanities sources from around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and peer-reviewed articles across a wide range of subject areas.

Advanced Database Research

"Setting Up an Effective Advanced Search in a Specific Database." Tips and tricks! Recorded December 2020, 5 minutes.

"Evaluating Search Results in a Specific Database." Recorded December 2020, 5 minutes.

"Searching Multiple EBSCO Databases at the Same Time." Recorded May 2021, 4 minutes.

Other

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The definitive record of the English language, featuring 600,000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1,000 years of English.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical, critical, and bibliographical information on various literary figures.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides reliable information on authors and their works, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.

Creative Commons License

Critical Editions in Literature: Oscar Wilde and British Aestheticism by Columbia College Chicago Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Critical Editions in Literature: Oscar Wilde and British Aestheticism

Need help?

Historical Periodicals

A Non-Comprehensive Selection of Books

Oscar Wilde: A Certain Genius

The Modern Art of Influence and the Spectacle of Oscar Wilde

The Man Who Was Dorian Gray

Beauty's Body: femininity and representation in British aestheticism

Trials of Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde and the Poetics of Ambiguity

Studying Oscar Wilde

The Cambridge Companion to Oscar Wilde

Literary Criticism

Advanced Database Research

Other

Creative Commons License