Full text of more than 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

Centers the Black experience using more than 1,000 documents from 1790 to 2000.

Content from thousands of American and global news sources, including current and historical Black publications from 1704 to the present.

Fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more. Includes the Black Literature Index (1827-1940) and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.

Non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, entertainers—covering 250 years of history. The collection includes letters, speeches, essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.

Chicago's nationally recognized African American newspaper.

Full text articles from this prominent Black newspaper. Includes page images of the entire contents, such as classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.

Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.

Oral History Interviews with over 2,500 historically significant African Americans.

This resource provides full text of journals, books, and other published humanities sources from around the world.

Academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.