It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This well organized federal agency site provides among other things, a business start-up kit, financing and SBA loan information, links to numerous outside resources (private and state), online library reading room, and much, much more. This should be one of the first sites to consult.
The Business Owner's Toolkit is a highly substantive site. Major chapters include Startup, Marketing, Finance, Running A Business, Office & HR, and Tax Center. The Tools & Forms section provides links to checklists, model business plans, forms, and other documents.
Nolo (Berkeley, CA) has been a publisher of plain-English legal books, software, and forms for nearly 30 years. Everything published is regularly revised and updated by a staff of lawyer-editors. This site provides articles (with a sense of humor!) on almost any legal topic. The business encyclopedia contains information on business plans, financing, obtaining a business license, marketing, taxes and buying and selling a business.
There are 900 sites around the country to assist small businesses and aspiring entrepreneurs. Many have websites linking users to reputable and quality resources when developing a small business plan. Researchers can also find information on franchising, demographics, industry information and more. Many also include tutorials on a variety of topics.
The Riley Guide, by Margaret F. Dikel, is a great resource for all things employment related. This site deals with small business concerns and contains links on how to obtain funding, dealing with legal concerns, getting started, and sources for getting help.
Includes links to basic federal tax information for small business owners and those looking to start a business. Includes information on identifying your businesses' structure, employer identification numbers, record keeping, business taxes, and a helpful checklist for all necessary tax-related small business filings.
A transparent public patent system to allow entrepreneurs to "determine the boundaries of intellectual property constraints on deliverable innovations, and usable building blocks for future innovations."
Small Business Information - E-Books
The Encyclopedia of Small Business Forms and Agreements by Martha Maeda
Call Number: E-BOOK ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2011-02-21
The Entrepreneur's Information Sourcebook by Susan C. Awe
Call Number: E-Book on Order
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business by Fred S. Steingold