Research Guides: Fashion Lab Practicum: Search Tools

Academic Publications, Data, Reports and more

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and peer-reviewed articles across a wide range of subject areas.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Color images, academic eBooks, museum directory, exhibition archive, reference works, and teaching resources relating to the world of dress and fashion.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journal articles, along with trade literature and other reports, on business and industry related topics, consumer behavior, and trends.

Fashion Practice
Fashion Practice is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering the full range of contemporary design and manufacture within the context of the fashion industry.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reports on consumer markets and products in U.S., related demographic data and analysis, and articles on trends in global consumer markets.

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Using Google Scholar can lead you to articles not already included in Columbia College Chicago Library collection. Use Interlibrary Loan or ask a librarian to help you get full-text access, if needed.

Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global in focus---bringing fashion business to life with real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion. Develop essential business skills required to tackle important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Color images, academic eBooks, museum directory, exhibition archive, reference works, and teaching resources relating to the world of dress and fashion.
Business of Fashion (Free Student Membership Only) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a free student account from Business of Fashion. Please note that a student BoF membership does not include access to case studies, special editions, selected articles, online courses or BoF professional digital live events.
Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
A premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing, manufacturing, and sustainability with coverage of global market conditions.
When accessing this database, always reject cookies.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A trend forecasting company providing global trend insights, curated data, and industry expertise on consumer trends.
Women's Wear Daily Online (WWD) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the Women's Wear Daily website. Only 10 Columbia users can access the website at one time.
Note: Register for an account using your Columbia College email address: https://subscriptions.pmc.com/register/wwd/0010b00002VlCNPAA3

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large, user-friendly statistics portal with a global scope. Find infographics, in-depth dossiers and reports, and Powerpoint slides, along with original source details.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reports on consumer markets and products in U.S., related demographic data and analysis, and articles on trends in global consumer markets.
MRI Simmons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data on psychographics, product usage, spending behavior, and media habits of U.S. adult consumers, based on national consumer surveys. Use it to create your own custom reports.