Research Guides: Environmental Equity in Chicago: Chicago News

Chicago News

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Refine by Source Location" option to limit your search to local publications in Illinois and Indiana (or any other state).

Block Club Chicago
Block Club Chicago is a nonprofit news organization dedicated to delivering reliable, nonpartisan and essential coverage of Chicago’s diverse neighborhoods. Block Club Chicago was created by former DNAinfo Chicago editors following the shutdown of DNAinfo and Gothamist in November of 2017.

Chicago Defender (1999-2019) This link opens in a new window
Chicago's nationally recognized African American newspaper.

Chicago Defender (web site)
Since 2019, Chicago Defender is published online only.

Chicago Defender Historical Archive (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from this prominent Black newspaper. Includes page images of the entire contents, such as classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.

Chicago Reader
Excellent in-depth coverage of local news. Click on the Archive link to search back issues. Note: The Lincoln Park Campus Library of DePaul holds back issues of the Reader on microfilm.

Chicago Sun-Times (1986-present) This link opens in a new window
Chicago's second largest major newspaper. Additional content options include image content from 2018-present and web edition content from 2008-2014.
Chicago Tribune (1989-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1847, it remains the most-read daily newspaper of the Chicago metropolitan area and the Great Lakes region.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive (1849-1997) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Crain's Chicago Business This link opens in a new window
A weekly business newspaper in Chicago that covers healthcare, real estate, manufacturing, government, sports, and more.