It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Artstor includes content related to the experiences and cultural traditions of Native Americans, illustrated by historic and contemporary photographs of ceremonial scenes, architecture and landscapes, as well as studio portraits of individuals and tribal delegations. Artifacts of material culture such as baskets, textiles, tools, masks, and costumes and apparel are also available.
This illustrated inventory highlights a small collection of nineteenth-century photographs of Native Americans. The collection was compiled as a resource decades ago, long before the creation of the Society’s online catalog, and represents just a fraction of the resources documenting Native people in AAS collections. Information on other holdings can be found on the Resources page.
Photographs in the digital collection primarily document the history and development of the American West. The Native American Photographs Project may be searched by: Subject - Photographer - Date - Location - Photographic Format and Process
Search through more than 18,000 digitized photos from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, thanks to the National Archives and Records Administration. A finding aid presents more than a century of archived photographs of Native American communities from the National Archives Catalog in a researcher-friendly format, searchable by Tribal Nation, topic, or state.
Breaks new ground by telling the stories of individual laborers at the fair, uncovering the roles that Indians played in the changing economic conditions of tribal peoples, and redefining their place in the American socioeconomic landscape.
The dynamic histories of everyday people at the heart of this book sheds new light on the adaptability of mobile Native American communities. In the end, this is a story of shared experience across tribal lines, through which Indigenous people incorporated urban life into their ideas for Indigenous futures.
A comprehensive chronological look at the entirety of Native American history, focusing particularly on native peoples within the geographic boundaries of the United States. Readers will learn a wealth of American Indian history as well as appreciate the key role American Indians played in certain significant stages of American history as a whole. The direct connections between the events in the past and many current hot-button topics―such as race, climate change, water use, and other issues―are clearly identified.
Beginning in the second half of the nineteenth century, American Indians themselves started using cameras to record their daily activities and to memorialize tribal members. A refreshing, new perspective highlighting the active contributions of North American Indians, both as patrons who commissioned portraits and as photographers who created collections. Features photographs that range from formal portraits to casual snapshots. Demonstrates how indigenous peoples took control of their own images and distinguished themselves as pioneers of photography.
Unworthy Republic: The Dispossession of Native Americans and the Road to Indian Territory (COMING EARLY SPRING))
An unsettling history of “Indian Removal,” the forced migration of Native Americans across the Mississippi River in the 1830s and the state-sponsored theft of their lands.
A look inside a special "Native America" issue of Aperture Magazine with Guest editor Wendy Red Star and Poet Natalie Diaz -- which considers the wide-ranging work of photographers and lens-based artists who pose challenging questions about land rights, identity and heritage, and histories of colonialism.
What can artists, archivists, and communities learn from historic collections of Native photography?
This interview was originally published in Aperture, Fall 2020, Issue 240, “Native America.” (see above)