It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
This resource provides full text of journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world. It includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content, much of which is not available in other databases.
A quarterly journal dedicated to the serious study of classic, art, and experimental films. Features an extensive collection of director studies. The other articles can sometimes be difficult and highly theoretical.
The AllMovie Guide is a database that provides over brief critical summaries of over 270,000 films and biographies of 25,000 personalities involved in film. The front page is a blog about film news, genres and more. The menu at the upper right will help you navigate.
Offers plot synopses, commentary, and reference material. Pages includes genre overviews, a comprehensive history of the industry, studies of individual films, and lists of Oscar winners, famous quotations and scenes, and various "best of..." categories.
Extensive website and blog from one of the most prolific contemporary authors about film. Includes full-texts of many of Bordwell's essays, a list of important film resources, and an informative blog on recent trends in filmmaking.