Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to the Fashion Industry

Designed by instruction librarians for library instruction sessions

Designer Research - Getting Started

Search the Library's collections for book on fashion designers: 

  • If you have a designer in mind already, use the search box on the home page to see what resources the library has in the collection. I'm going to use Alexander McQueen as my example. 

The results can be limited to Books Only: 

The screenshot below shows you two books on McQueen with similar call numbers: 

Both have call numbers start with: 746.92092 M173 - this gives you a good idea for where to look for other books on McQueen in the collection. These books will be located on the 4th floor. 

Browse for Fashion Designers - Books

To browse the Library's collections for fashion designers you can start with these search results: Fashion Designers (as a Subject Search) 

Browse for Fashion Designers - Databases

Browse Library databases for fashion designers

Use the Vogue Archive to search for Fashion Designers throughout the run of American Vogue - going back to 1892. The Vogue Archive includes advertisements, articles and editorials. 

Use WGSN for Catwalk Analysis of various seasons, as well as for runway shows from Designers using the Gallery View or Collections View. A comprehensive A-Z list of designers is also available. Collections date back to about 2012. 

Use WWD for complete Runway shows - use the Runway Tab to get up-to-date analysis of collections and view the full runway gallery.