Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foundation Studio: Creature Research

This guide is intended for Foundation Studio (ARTS 105) sections taughts by Heather Mekkelson.

Pick A Creature

As you begin exploring creatures from various mythologies and cultures, it can be helpful to explore books, especially encyclopedias, dedicated to mythical creatures, mythology, and folklore. Encyclopedias can provide comprehensive listings and descriptions of mythical creatures as well as the context of the creature within a larger mythology. 

On this page you will find various encyclopedias to help you with this exploration. 

Online Encyclopedias

E-Book Encyclopedias

African Mythology, A to Z

Alphabetically listed entries discuss the myths, traditions, beliefs, and characters of African mythology.

Abominable Science!

Explores and elucidates the fascinating world of cryptozoology - from Bigfoot to the Loch Ness monster to the Congo dinosaur. 

Monsters You Should Know

A brief introduction to 17 monsters from around the world in a light, tongue-in-cheek tone.

Pandemonium and Parade: Japanese Monsters and the Culture of Yokai

Includes water sprites, mountain goblins, shape-shifting animals, and the monsters known as yokai. 

Greek and Roman Mythology

This volume provides entries about various aspects of Greek and Roman mythology; learn about major and minor gods, animals, monsters, spirits, and forces. 

Mythical Monsters in Classical Literature

Covers all the major mythical monsters mentioned by Greek and Roman authors. 

Print Encyclopedias

Field Guide to Fantastic Creatures

Library Location: Oversize Collection--2nd floor 398.2454 S737f

Beasts!

Library location: 4th Floor, 741.59 B368c

Beasts!, Book 2

Library location: 4th floor, 741.59 B368c2

The Book of Imaginary Beings

Library location: 3rd floor, 398.469 B732b

Fabulous Creatures, Mythical Monsters, and Animal Power Symbols

Library location: 3rd floor, 398.469 E13f

Creatures in the Mist

Library location: 3rd floor, 398.4 V317c