I'd Like To Find...
Library Updates
Become a fan of the Columbia College Chicago Library
Follow the Columbia College Chicago Libary on Twitter: LibraryTweet
General Info
- Nielsen Retail Entertainment Information
Nielsen monitors airplay and sales of music in the U.S. and Canada and Puerto Rico. See Broadcast Data Systems (BDS) for airplay and SoundScan for music sales. Nielsen data is used by Billboard, Airplay Monitor and Canadian Music Network magazines to determine music charts.
- Musical America
Musical America is an international directory for the performing arts. The website is divided into three sections: industry news, articles, and listings. Some content is restricted to paying subscribers.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide
Covers songwriting, publishing, copyright, licensing, artist management, promotion, retailing, and media. Also includes a careers section and an appendix with sample copyright forms and publishing agreements.The Recording Industry
A brief but comprehensive examination of how records are made, marketed, and sold. Takes into account industry changes due to the Internet.This Business of Music: the Definitive Guide to the Music Industry
Recognized as the industry textbook. Offers broad treatment of contracts, royalties, loans, tax issues, videos, and copyright.The Music Business Explained in Plain English: What Every Artist and Songwriter Should Know to Avoid Getting Ripped Off!
Explains the business elements of a recording or songwriting career in simple terms for the amateur musician.The Dictionary of Music Business Terms
Clearly explains over 3,000 terms and phrases covering every aspect of the music business.- A&R Registry
This frequently updated directory is the standard in the business. Issued six times per year. - Billboard International Buyer's Guide
This directory covers labels, publishers, attorneys, wholesalers, distributors, and manufacturers. Updated yearly.
Billboard International Talent & Touring Guide
An exhaustive directory covering artists, managers, promoters, agents, venues, and equipment. Updated regularly.
The indie bible
ISBN/ISSN: 0968621422
A directory specifically for independent musicians.
The Musician's Atlas
ISBN/ISSN: 0966936892
This book serves as one-stop shopping for radio, venue, distributor, press, and booking contacts. Updated yearly.Songwriter's market
This is the standard source for songwriters. Updated yearly.- Recording industry sourcebook
Updated yearly, this directory covers all aspects of the music industry.
Subject Librarian |
Lauren Noel
Chat with a Librarian
Library chat requires JavaScript.
Are we offline? Please try to reach us by email or phone.
Powered by Springshare; All rights reserved.
Report a tech support issue.
View this page in a format suitable for printers, mobile devices and screen-readers.
View this page in a format suitable for printers, mobile devices and screen-readers.
© 2009 Columbia College Chicago
All Rights Reserved
All Rights Reserved























Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait