This is the "Get Started" page of the "Marketing II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing II  

Course Guide - Rich
Last Updated: Feb 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.colum.edu/marketingII Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Updates

Follow us on Twitter Friend us on Facebook
Follow us on Tumblr Follow us on Pinterest

 

Demographics Books

Community Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics
Find population and income demographics as well as spending potential indices for any ZIP Code in the United States.

Lifestyle Market Analyst
General characteristics of people with various interests (e.g. stamp collectors or extreme sports enthusiasts) and specific consumer segment profiles (e.g. single females, 18-34 years old).

Cover Art
American Generations: Who They Are and How They Live
Identifies six American generations: iGeneration, Millennial, X, Baby Boom, Swing and World War II. Includes statistics about several aspects of life such as parenting, education, work and housing.

Cover Art
The Millennials: Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Provides a demographic and socioeconomic profile of the Millennial generation. Includes statistics on the education, living arrangements, labor force participation, health, incomes, spending, and time use of the youngest generation and its parents.

Cover Art
Generation X: Americans Born 1965 to 1976
Includes demographic and lifestyle data on Generation X. Provides the latest statistics on the labor force participation, living arrangements, incomes, health, spending, and wealth of this generation.

Cover Art
The Baby Boom: Americans Born 1946 to 1964
Reveals the unique characteristics of Baby Boomers and explains how those characteristics are remaking American society. Includes the latest statistics on the labor force participation, living arrangements, incomes, health, spending, and wealth of the generation.

Cover Art
Older Americans: A Changing Market
Provides the latest statistics on the health, living arrangements, incomes, spending, and wealth of the Swing and World War II generations.

Cover Art
American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns
Statistics about American life. Subject categories include education, health, housing, labor, living arrangements, income, spending, and more

Cover Art
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What
Spending patterns of American across market segments and demographic criteria, e.g. spending on hair care products by income level.

Cover Art
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand
Household spending on hundreds of products and services by age, income, household type, and region. Identifies which households spend the most on a product or service (i.e. the best customers) and which control the largest percentage of total spending for that product or service (i.e. the biggest customers)

Who's Buying by Race and Hispanic Origin
Detailed statistics on the amounts racial and ethnic groups in the US spend on thousands of products.

 

Library Search

Library Search



   

Use these sources...

Use the sources listed to find answers to the questions below.

 

Questions

Industry

What is the name of your client's industry?  Is there a good NAICS code for your client's industry?

Are there any alternative NAICS codes you might research as well?

Use Business Source Complete to research this industry: 

  • Search for the name of your client's industry
  • Look at relevant articles to locate potential NAICS codes for the industry
  • Do a new search for the industry using the drop-down menu to select NAICS code and pasting in the code for your industry
  • Narrow your search using the limiters on the left side (options include full-text, date range, subject, geography, etc)
  • Locate and email yourself at least 3 articles, reports or profiles that relate to your client's industry

Use Business Insights to research this industry:

  • Click the Industry Search link, the paste in your NAICS code (select NAICS) and search for industry profiles
  • Search by industry name for relevant articles 
  • Locate and email yourself at least 1 report or article that relates to your client's industry 

Competitors

Who are your client's competitors?  Brainstorm for at least three competitors - use any sources at your disposal. (Google, Yelp, Arts Directories, etc)

Use America's Newspapers: Illinois Newspapers and Illinois Newspapers (Lexis Nexis Academic) to locate any newspaper articles about your client, your client's industry, and possible competitors. Email yourself at least three relevant articles about your client and a competitor. 

Use the Chicago Tribune to locate any newspaper articles about your client, your client's industry, and possible competitors.  Email yourself at least three relevant articles. 

Demographics

Where is your client located?  Who is your client's target audience?  Where is the target audience geographically located?   Using the 2010 Census locate the population and demographic information for your client's audience. Use the Demographics Books in the left box to find characteristics of consumers by generation and what they purchase.

For detailed Census information, find the census tract for a specific area.  Use American Factfinder to locate the specific census tract:

  • Within American Factfinder, click Geographies Tab
  • Click the Address tab and enter the address for your client 
  • Locate the Census Tract and click on it to see detailed information on population

SWOT

Search for your client, the industry and any competitors in the newspaper databases (America's Newspapers: Illinois Newspapers, Illinois Newspapers (Lexis Nexis Academic) and Chicago Tribune) and business databases (Business Source Complete and Business Insights) for strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats.

  • For Strengths try searching for: strengths, assests, positive, vitality, stability, advantage
  • For Weaknesses try searching for: weaknesses, difficulties, faults, deficiencies, instabilities, vulnerabilities, disadvantage
  • For Opportunities try searching for: opportunities, possibilities, opening, chance, strategy
  • For Threats try searching for: threats, risks, challenges, hazards, danger, gamble

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Molly Beestrum

  

Chat with a Librarian

Library chat requires JavaScript.

 

 Are we offline? Please try to reach us by email or phone.
Contact Info
312.369.7966
Send Email

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
April Levy

 

Chat with a Librarian

Library chat requires JavaScript.

 

Are we offline? Please try to reach us by email or call 312-369-7900.
 

 



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip