Last Updated: May 14, 2014
Click to jump to a list of databases by subject:
- CIA World Factbook
Published annually by the Central Intelligence Agency, provides basic statistical data on the countries of the world. Includes maps, and flags of the world.
- Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
A vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD. Advanced search features allow you to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
- The Economist Country Briefings
Provides background profiles, forecast and statistics, market and currency updates, news headlines, and links from The Economist Intelligence Unit." (NOTE: Most of the content is free but there will be some articles to which the Library does not have access.)
- U.S. Department of State Background Notes
The official United States Government publications which profile countries and organizations of the world. Each entry generally include the following on each country: Profile, People, Government, Economy, History, Political Conditions, Economy, Foreign relations, Principal U.S. Officials . Background Notes provide information on geographic entities and international organizations and are updated periodically.
- UN Data - Country Profiles
Statistical data compiled by more than twelve divisions of the United Nations. Data includes summary statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, environment and trade profiles.
Biographies by Subject:
Websites & Databases for Biographical Info:
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides accurate and timely data about the social and economic conditions of the United States, its workers, workplaces, and workers’ families.
Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies. Includes economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.
- MapStats: United States
Official statistical information produced by the Federal Government including profiles of States, counties, cities, congressional districts, and Federal judicial districts.
If you would like to be able to save your work, please create an account. Otherwise click Guest Access. Using Guest Access you will be able to search, but you will not be able to save your work.
Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Census Data
- State & Local Data
- Marketing & Demographic Data
- Public Opinion Polls & Data