Career InfoDesignersHistoryIndustry NewsPhotos, Illustrations & VideoTrends
Admin Sign In 

Fashion 

Research Guide
Last update: Sep 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.colum.edu/fashion  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Guide             Print Page
  
 

Library Updates

 

CCC Library FB logo

Become a fan of the Columbia College Chicago Library

LibraryTweet

Follow the Columbia College Chicago Libary on Twitter: LibraryTweet

 
 

General Info

  • Fairchild’s Dictionary of Fashion
    A thorough, detail-packed dictionary covering contemporary fashion as well as non-western cultures. Includes words related to textiles, fashion history and merchandising.

 

General Info

  • Accessories The Show
    An excellent tool to use for forecasting future trends and delivering up-to- the-minute coverage on all categories of accessories; including jewelry, belts, handbags, scarves, legwear, eyewear, and hats. From the editors of Accessories Magazine, this site reports on color trends and topics that impact both the fashion industry and provide market direction.


  • Fabrics.net
    A fantastic information resource and referral network for fabrics, trims, care, embroidery, dying, vintage fabrics and more. Includes Q&A section, fabric information pages, monthly columns, wisdom articles, and an online fabric store.


  • Vogue Pattern Catalog Collection (1990-Present)
    Columbia College Library, 4th Floor, located in Special Collections.


  • Buttericks/McCalls/Vogue Patterns
    Visit this site for a sneak preview of the newest styles, designer patterns, accessories, craft and home decorating ideas as well as vintage clothing. Click on ‘Related Sites’ for sewing organizations, supplies and more.


  • Ad Archives: Fashion Advertisements
    Columbia College Library, 4th Floor, Located in Special Collections.

    The Ad Archives includes a small collection of clipped advertisements arranged by fashion designer and various accessories.


  • Columbia College Chicago Fashion Study Collection
    618 South Michigan Building of Columbia College, 8th floor

    Established in 1989, this collection offers post-World War II womenswear, menswear, and ethnic regalia. It also houses fashion accessories, advertisements, books, periodicals, slides and videos. It is available by appointment to Columbia College faculty and students. 
  • Fashion Plate Collection
    The original fashion plates collected by Blanche Payne and others have been cataloged and carefully stored for preservation purposes in archival housing. Many of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageWendy Hall

 

Chat with a Librarian

Library chat requires JavaScript.

 

Are we offline? Please try to reach us by email or phone.


 

 



Description

  Loading content... please wait