Skip to main content

Electronic Resources Requests and Database Trials

Electronic Resources Collection Management Policy and a listing of current and past database trials and electronic resources reviews

Decision Making Process

Requesting New Subscriptions/Acquisitions

All new electronic acquisitions must be requested through the Electronic Resources Selection Committee.  Review periods for new electronic resources are scheduled twice a year, once during the fall semester and once during the spring semester.  Faculty and staff requesting a resource for review can contact their Library Department Liaison or Rebecca Courington (rcourington@colum.edu) by the deadlines listed for each review period.

  • In consultation with faculty, liaisons, appropriate library staff and others (as needed), the Electronic Resources Committee will consider whether or not the product meets the selection criteria outlined in the Electronic Resources Collection Development Policy

  • The Electronic Resources Coordinator will request pricing for the product and investigate consortial purchase options.

  • The Electronic Resources Coordinator will request a trial of the product.  All trials should be coordinated through the Electronic Resources Coordinator.  This will ensure that the trial is appropriately timed and publicized when necessary.

  • In consultation with faculty, liaisons, appropriate library staff and others (as needed), the Electronic Resources Committee will solicit feedback and evaluate the product based on the trial.

  • The Electronic Resources Committee will consult reviews of the product.

  • The Electronic Resources Committee will consult other subscribers to the product.

  • Based on cost, perceived need, usage, and the degree to which the electronic resource meets the selection criteria, the committee will: 1) decide whether or not to acquire and 2) if a decision to acquire is made, prioritize its purchase in relation to other electronic resources requested within budgetary constraints.

Electronic Resource Review Periods

Academic Year 2016- 2017

Fall Review Period
Fall database trials and review period ends Dec. 17, 2016

Spring Review Period
Spring database trials and review period ends March 18, 2017


If you would like to suggest an electronic resource or request a Database Trial, please complete the Suggest a Purchase form located on the Library's web site, contact Rebecca Courington: rcourington@colum.edu ext. 7334, or contact your Library Liaison.

Electronic Resources Selection Committee

Committee Members

Wendy Hall
Special Collections Librarian
whall@colum.edu

Amy Killebrew
User Experience and Emerging Technologies Librarian
akillebrew@colum.edu

April Levy
Reference & Instruction Librarian
alevy@colum.edu

Dennis McGuire
Head of Tech Services and Collection Development
dmcguire@colum.edu

Arlie Sims
Head of Reference & Instructional Services
asims@colum.edu