Research Guides: Photography: Get Started

Subject Specific Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers the fine, decorative and commercial arts along with architecture and architectural design. Providing full-text articles, it is designed for use by art scholars, artists, designers, and students.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Transitioning to Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images. This resource will migrate to a new platform on June 1, 2024. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New Artstor platform. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video tutorials on 3D animation, audio, business, CAD, design, development, photography, video creation, web design, and more. Login using your Columbia email.

General Photography Books

Photography: A Cultural History (5th Edition)

Library location: Course Reserves 1st floor

Call number: 770.9 M334p 2021

The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and Science (E-Book)

Available online

Photography Is Magic

Library location: 4th floor

Call number: 779.0922 C851p

General Photography Web Resources

Museum of Contemporary Photography (MoCP) This link opens in a new window
The MoCP is the world’s premier college art museum dedicated to photography.

F-Stop Magazine
F-Stop provides a great list of photo magazines and blogs.
Filter Photo Festival
Serves and supports the photographic communities of Chicago and the Midwest while hosting regular social, educational, and professional development activities, including exhibitions, workshops, and lectures.
more...less...
2023 Filter Photo Festival : https://www.filterphoto.org/festival-overview
Chicago Artists Resource | Chicago Artists Coalitiion
Free Chicago-centric resource featuring exhibition and grant opportunities, jobs in the arts, and more.
Society for Photographic Education
Non-profit membership organization that provides a forum for the discussion of photography and related media as a means of creative expression and cultural insight. Features exhibition, employment, photo school directory and portfolio review opportunities.
Center for Fine Art Photography
Colorado photographic center featuring exhibition opportunities.
New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA)
Free NYC-centric organization featuring regional, national, and international exhibition and grant opportunities.
College Art Association
Non-profit membership organization featuring exhibition and portfolio review opportunities.
Art Deadline
Pay subscription resource featuring regional, national, and international calls for work, jobs in the arts, grant opportunities, and more.
Photo Lucida
Oregon photography center featuring exhibition and portfolio review opportunities.
Photofocus
An educational resource for the aspiring and professional photographer that features up-to-date product reviews, training videos, informative podcasts and inspirational content,
Digital Photography Review
Reviews and discussion about the latest developments in digital camera equipment.
Royal Society Publishing Photography Competition
Celebrates the power of photography in capturing scientific phenomena happening all around us, and the role great images play in making science accessible to a wide audience. The contest winning images have returned after an absence due to the global pandemic.

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Photography

Subject Librarian

Subject Specific Databases

General Photography Books

Photography: A Cultural History (5th Edition)

The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and Science (E-Book)

Photography Is Magic

General Photography Web Resources