Research Guides: Photography: Photographic Practice I

Course Guide -- Photographic Practice I

This guide offers a starting point for projects specifically related to the Photographic Practice I course.

ArtStor: Over 2.5 million museum quality images

Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Transitioning to Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images. This resource will migrate to a new platform on June 1, 2024. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New Artstor platform. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Artstor on JSTOR: Creating an Account

"Artstor on JSTOR: Create an Account," recorded February 2024, 2 minutes.

Artstor on JSTOR: Place and Time Research

"Artstor on JSTOR: Time and Place Research," recorded February 2024, 3 minutes.

Artstor on JSTOR: Searching and Filtering

"Artstor on JSTOR: Searching for Images and Filtering Search Results" recorded January 2024, 4 minutes.

Other image search tools

Photo Images from Museums and Galleries

Many museums and galleries offer digital images works from their collections, including photography.

Google Images
For the highest quality images and full rights for academic use of images, ArtStor is recommended. However, for more current or less covered photographers, Google Images provides gateway access to related images on the internet.

"Google Images to find photography," recorded November 2020, 3 minutes.

Unsplash
Free, open access, high-resolution images shared by over 200,000 photographers.
more...less...
Splash.com images can be used for free. Attribution recommended. See more on the Splash.com access license at https://unsplash.com/license

Use the Citing and Using Images section of this research guide to learn more about citing images and using them ethically and legally.

Find photography images in books

Search for photography books in the library book collection

Columbia College Chicago Library has one of the most robust photography book collections in the midwest.

Start researching a photographer using the search box on the Library Home page. Choose the "resource type" - BOOKS.

Most of the print PHOTOGRAPHY BOOKS are located on the 4th floor in the Library.

Use this GUIDE to browse the photography print book collection

Use this guide to navigate the Dewey Decimal Classification and find a few of the most popular photo subject categories. (Photo book collection located on the 4th floor of the Library.)

Further Research on Photographers and Photography Subjects

BIOGRAPHICAL

If you need to find biographical information about a photographer, try the Library search tool on the home page at https://library.colum.edu.

Search for the photographer's name in quotation marks (for example, "Gordon Parks") and the term "biography".
Or search the author name and then choose ARTICLES from the "resource types" menu alongside the search results. This is also a good way to find articles about a photographer's critical reception or reviews.

THEMES, MOVEMENTS, TYPES of PHOTOGRAPHY

Again, you can use the Library search tool to search for subject matter within photography, such as:

Photorealism
Street photography
Nature photography

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Photography

Subject Librarian