Ebrary Viewer Tools
ResultsEBSCO eBook Viewer
Viewing Results
Safari Viewer
Browse ContentReview Content
This is the "eBooks at Columbia" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBooks  

Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.colum.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

eBooks at Columbia Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Free eBooks Collections and Resources

ereader

Photo:  Michael Porter

There are lots of websites that offer you free, downloadable eBooks.  These website usually offer you the ability to download the eBook in a format that is compatible with your eReader device or gives you the option to read the eBook through your computer's browser.

Free eBook Websites
Project Gutenbenberg
Gizmo's Free Books Online
Many Books
ePub Books
Internet Archive
Bartleby: Great Books Online
Free e-Books
Planet eBook
Bibliomania
American Verse Project
Classic Bookshelf
The Internet Sacred Texts Archive
The Merck Manuals
The Bookshelf at NCBI
Scribd (subscription $8.99 a month)


Online Resources
50 Cool Search Engines for Serious Readers
100 Useful Links for ebook lovers
20 Best Websites to Download Free eBooks


Comparison of eReaders
Comparison of eBook Readers on Wikipedia
The eBook Reader
eReader Comparison Guide

 
 

eBooks at Columbia

The Columbia College Chicago library offers you access to several different Academic eBook Collections. The eBooks found in these collections will be viewable in your computer browser, but not downloadable.

Columbia College Academic eBook Collections:

For the best viewing experience be sure that you:

Our licensing agreements with the various vendors determine the number of simultaneous users that are allowed with each e-book.  For example, our Safari Tech Book collection has a limit of 5 simultaneous database users.  Most of our individual e-book titles have limits of either 1 or 3 simultaneous users. Printing restrictions also will vary from vendor to vendor and in some cases even from e-book to e-book depending on our licensing agreements.  Most of the e-books will have a restriction on how many pages you can print or email.  The page limit will most likely be posted on the screen. 

 

Loading onto an eReader

Although you can't download the e-books that are available from Columbia, many of the eBooks offered on eBook Websites such as Project Gutenberg are downloadable. After you download an eBook to your computer, you can transfer the eBook to an eReader device such as a Kindle, Nook or Sony eReader.

In some cases, the eBook website may offer you different download format options, so be sure to download the eBook in a format that is supported by your eReader.  (Note:  The Kindle is an Amazon proprietary device does not support all eBook formats.)

To move your eBook to an iPad, iPod or iPhone you may need to use a 3rd party application such as TXTR.com or the BLUEFIRE Reader.

 

Adobe Reader

You may need to install the latest version  Adobe Reader if you want to view the PDF files on your computer.  Also,  you may need to install Adobe Flash.

 

Mac Reader Plug-in

If you are using a MAC computer you may need to install a PDF Browser Plug-in to use eBook viewers.

MAC users click here to download the FREE PLUG-IN.

 



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip