This local agency mentors and provides financial help for start-ups in all facets of apparel and sewn products business, including design, manufacturing, sales, retail and marketing. It also helps individual members develop professional skills and identify employment opportunities.
Looking for a job or have an interest in advancing your career or starting a fashion business? Check out what opportunities are available under the career link. Offers fashion insider how-to guides along with emerging industry trends, trade show event calendars, fashion designer profiles, trade directories, research reports and more. Subscribers gain access to even more inside information.
This book offers a grounding in the principles of fashion design while describing the qualities and skills needed to become a fashion designer along with examining the varied career opportunities available. Subjects covered include how to interpret a project brief; building a collection; choosing fabric; fit, cutting and making techniques; portfolio presentation; and fashion marketing and economics.
Helps you organize your work to best communicate your talent and vision. Learn to tailor your portfolio for your chosen market and client. Includes advice on digital and web based portfolios along with interview insights.
A helpful reference to check as you prepare to begin your career, re-enter the job market, or just wish to advance in in your career. Information is presented on digital portfolios, job hunting, tips for surviving interviews, and creating a portfolio from concept to finished product as a statement of your personal style.
A step-by-step guide to designing a successful fashion collection, with each chapter exploring a different stage of the project: from understanding the brief and identifying the market to research, development, and sampling, through to garment design, range planning, and styling and presentation. The book includes a CD containing 15 additional student case studies.
Focuses on the process of designing a collection, and explores different types of research, fabric sourcing, the key roles within a design team and the many sources of inspiration available to designers.
This book contains advice to get you started on a path towards a successful career in fashion. It opens with an overview of the industry, and follows with tips on seeking out internships, building a portfolio and obtaining work experience.
Learn about a variety of fashion careers available -- while gaining an understanding of what careers match your aptitudes, skill sets, and interests for a path to a successful career in the fashion industry.
Even though fashion is constantly changing--the core professional skills of a fashion designer remain the same. Here you'll find a review of the entire creative process, from idea generation, design, and garment construction to showing a collection on the catwalk
An essential primer that directs fashion designers through the entire design process, from conceiving a garment to marketing it. Includes portfolio building, branding, and interviews with leading fashion designers.
Topics include: Working in the fashion industry as a fashion designer -- Business planning -- Showcasting your work -- Selling your brand -- Networking and using social media -- and environmentally and socially responsible fashion.
Offers a clear approach to how and where to gather information from primary and secondary fashion resources as well as chapters on market, fabric, and color research with case studies from a wide range of designers that showcase different working methods.
This guide covers landing your first job as an assistant to starting your own business as a freelance fashion stylist. Includes tips for organizing your own fashion shoots and advice on getting started with interviews and advice from industry experts.