Art ReproductionsBiographiesCareer InfoCriticismHistory
This is the "Research Guide" page of the "Art & Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art & Art History  

Research Guide
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2012 URL: http://libguides.colum.edu/arthistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Info

  • Oxford Dictionary of Art Online
    Excellent starting point for researching an artist, movement or location. Authoritative and clear. Includes images and bibliographies.
  • Timeline of Art History
    Comprehensive timeline of artistic endeavor from prehistory to the present. Includes indexes of artists, subjects and special topics (such as the bikini), pictures, maps, bibliographies and more.
  • SmartHistory
    Art. History.Conversation. Listen to art historians discuss works of art which span thousands of years. Beautifully designed and conversational in tone, this site won the 2009 Webby Education Award.
  • Artlex Art Dictionary
    Comprehensive online dictionary of over 3,600 terms used to describe art and art materials. Includes images, cross references and more.
Cover Art
The Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History
This dictionary includes artists, movements, periods and terms. It also includes descriptions and explanations of materials used in specific works of art. Concise and easy to read.

Encyclopedia of World Art
Before the Dictionary of Art, there was the Encyclopedia. Very comprehensive, with excellent plates and illustrations. It is essential to use the index (vol.15) to find some entries.

Cover Art
Guide to the Literature of Art History 2
Excellent starting point for in-depth research. Vast in scope.

Art Index
Useful to research artists active in the mid-twentieth century. The Libraries volumes span the years 1929 through 1995.

Cover Art
Atlas of World Art
Altas of art from around the world, from 40,000 BC to 2000 AD. Includes maps showing trade routes, peoples, and source materials.






 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Dennis McGuire

 

Chat with a Librarian

Library chat requires JavaScript.

 

Are we offline? Please try to reach us by email or phone.
 

 



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip