I'd Like to...
Library Updates
Become a fan of the Columbia College Chicago Library
Follow the Columbia College Chicago Libary on Twitter: LibraryTweet
Chicago Architecture Websites
- The Encyclopedia of Chicago
A comprehensive encyclopedia of Chicago's civic and cultural history. Includes articles, maps, timelines, images, and much more. A print version of the Encyclopedia is available in the library reference collection. - History and Architecture of Columbia College Chicago's Buildings
Explores the history and architecture of nine Columbia College buildings.
- AIA Chicago
Resources for practicing architects, directories to architects, firms, and their web pages, and links to Chicago architecture sites - Chicago Landmarks
Information about Chicago landmarks and the people who designed them. Site includes a searchable database of landmark buildings, an architectural style guide, biographies of architects and much more. - Chicago Architects Oral History Project
Oral histories documenting the life experiences of architects who shaped the physical environment in Chicago and surrounding communities. - Chicago Architecture Foundation
Dedicated to advancing public interest and education in architecture and related design. Sponsors programs designed to enhance the public's awareness and appreciation of Chicago's outstanding architectural legacy. - City of Chicago, Department of Buildings
Public Records Section
121 N. LaSalle St, Room 1109
Floor plans of Chicago buildings may possibly be obtained under the Freedom of Information Act from the City of Chicago, Department of Buildings.
Please note: A Freedom of Information Request Form must be completed and the request may be denied for security purposes. More info.
Chicago Architecture Books
Chicago’s Famous Buildings
This concise book provides key information about noteworthy Chicago buildings, address, architects, date, style, description and history.Chicago Architecture and Design
Discusses the development of Chicago architecture through various movements: the Chicago School, the Prairie School, Art Deco, Modernism and beyond.- Chicago Historic Resources Survey: An Inventory of Architecturally and Historically Significant Structures
Lists buildings built before 1940 throughout Chicago of national and community significance. This inventory also Chicago, history guides! Masterpieces of Chicago Architecture
Great for images, this book includes photographs and architectural drawings of great Chicago buildings.AIA Guide to Chicago
Extensive list of noteworthy buildings throughout Chicago. Brief historical essays place the architecture in context of a growing city. Also includes maps of Chicago neighborhoods with the buildings marked.Lost Chicago
Richly illustrated with photograph, this book describes great buildings of Chicago, now gone forever.
Subject Librarian |
Dennis McGuire
Chat with a Librarian
Library chat requires JavaScript.
Are we offline? Please try to reach us by email or phone.
Powered by Springshare; All rights reserved.
Report a tech support issue.
View this page in a format suitable for printers, mobile devices and screen-readers.
View this page in a format suitable for printers, mobile devices and screen-readers.
© 2009 Columbia College Chicago
All Rights Reserved
All Rights Reserved























Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait