Research Guides: Fashion Studies: Get Started

Best Bets

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and images on world dress and fashion covering historic periods. The resource includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directories, reference works, images and a timeline of global fashion: Antiquity - Present.
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Global in focus---bringing fashion business to life with real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion. Develop essential business skills required to tackle important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.
Business of Fashion (Free Student Membership Only) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a free student account from Business of Fashion. Watch the attached video to learn more. Please note that a student BoF membership does not include access to case studies, special editions, selected articles, online courses or BoF professional digital live events.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research reports on consumer markets and products in U.S., related demographic data and analysis, and articles on trends in global consumer markets.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A trend forecasting company providing global trend insights, curated data, and industry expertise on consumer trends.
Women's Wear Daily Online (WWD) This link opens in a new window
Full access to the Women's Wear Daily website. Only 10 Columbia users can access the website at one time.
Note: Register for an account using your Columbia College email address: https://subscriptions.pmc.com/register/wwd/0010b00002VlCNPAA3
Women's Wear Daily Archive (1910 - 1 year ago: Proquest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on the history and business of twentieth-century fashion through the digitized archive of WWD, the leading fashion-industry trade paper since 1910.
Fashion and Race Database This link opens in a new window
Tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge misrepresentation within the fashion system. First-time users will need to create an account with their @colum.edu email: https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=https://fashionandrace.org/database/register/columbia-chi-0315

Subject Databases

FASHION AND ART

Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Transitioning to Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images. This resource will migrate to a new platform on June 1, 2024. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Artstor on JSTOR | JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New Artstor platform. Features images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. It is a comprehensive image resource, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Artstor | Fashion and Costume Guide
Highlights Artstor content related to fashion and costume, including images of historical fashion, costumes, designers, and fashion shows.
Artstor | Conde Nast, Cartoons, and Fashion Photography
Photos featuring fashion, celebrity, and lifestyle. Search by: Fashion Designer or Fashion Photographer
Select the box - Search within results
Examples to try: Ralph Lauren, Horst P Horst, Miniskirt, Fur

Business of Fashion (Free Student Membership Only) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Register for a free student account from Business of Fashion. Watch the attached video to learn more. Please note that a student BoF membership does not include access to case studies, special editions, selected articles, online courses or BoF professional digital live events.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
Videos that retrace the history of fashion.
Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
Global resource for staying up-to-date with company news, in-depth expert analysis and Q&As with industry fashion, retail, apparel and textile leaders--also features a section to discover new job opportunities.
When accessing this database, always reject cookies.

BUSINESS

Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Global in focus---bringing fashion business to life with real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion. Develop essential business skills required to tackle important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.
New York Times (Proquest) (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable databases with full-text article access. Browse by issue or search and filter (by location, document type, date, etc.).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes news coverage, legal cases, and business information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large, user-friendly statistics portal with a global scope. Find infographics, in-depth dossiers and reports, and Powerpoint slides, along with original source details.
Wall Street Journal Online (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
An American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.

RESEARCH TIP: For more business information -- see the Research Guide for Introduction to Management and Entrepreneurhip

Library

Ask a Librarian:

Fashion Studies

Subject Librarian

Best Bets

Subject Databases