Quisqueya la Bella
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
An introductory overview of the culture, history, and politics of the Dominican Republic integrating a sociohistorical examination of the Dominican culture's evolution with an emphasis on the ethnic diversity that constitutes its identity. Cambeira (Clark Atlanta U.) underlines his scholarly research with "field" experience, breathing contemporary life into historical topics such as the indigenous and Spanish heritages of the Dominican Republic, the rise and decline of sugar trading, slave economies in Hispaniola, the causes and effects of the Haitian revolution, and life after independence. The appendices supply information about the Quisqueya language, national treasures, and the Dominican flag. Includes maps. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Trujillo: The Death of the Goat
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
A megalomaniac with an enormous sexual appetite, Generalissimo Trujillo, president/dictator of the Dominican Republic, expected as a matter of course to harvest the virgin daughters of loyal friends, although he might at any moment order a genuinely loyal officer boiled alive and exhibited as a disgraced enemy. He ordered 20,000 black Haitians slaughtered for squatting in his country (a Negrophobe, he had Negro blood in his veins). He owned 60% of his country's land, and the treasury. He revamped the country and cities into his own image, changing Santo Domingo to Ciudad Trujillo, erecting hundreds of statues to himself--even having neon signs in the capital blinking GOD AND TRUJILLO. On his silver anniversary he renamed a major avenue after his buxom 16-year-old daughter Queen Angelita I and outfitted her in an $80,000 white satin gown with a 75-foot train of Russian ermine. He was crazy. And on May 30, 1961 he was assassinated by the de la Maza family. The root of his assassination grew from a murder he'd ordered four years earlier, and in covering up that murder he'd had two more men murdered, including young Tavito de la Maza. This slowly nudged the wild de la Mazas into a conspiracy that is grippingly analyzed here and which reveals the shilly-shallying of the US and the CIA--we backed the dictator but at last supplied (then partly withdrew) weapons with which to kill him. His murder of three highly attractive sisters who refused his advances steeled the conspirators' resolve (""it did something to their machismo""). But after the killing, no coup d'etat followed. Trujillo's son Ramfis took over and the conspirators were massacred. Straightforward and styleless, but a strong pulse throughout. Copyright ©Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
Dominican Republic in Focus
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Currently one of the biggest tourist destinations in the Caribbean, the Dominican Republic has much more to offer than its idyllic beaches. "Dominican Republic in Focus" is a authoritative and up-to-date guide to this vibrant country. It explores the land, history and politics, economy, society and people, culture and includes tips on where to go and what to see. Photos and maps.
The Farming of Bones
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
The Farming of Bones begins in 1937 in a village on the Dominican side of the river that separates the country from Haiti. Amabelle Desir, Haitian-born and a faithful maidservant to the Dominican family that took her in when she was orphaned, and her lover Sebastien, an itinerant sugarcane cutter, decide they will marry and return to Haiti at the end of the cane season. However, hostilities toward Haitian laborers find a vitriolic spokesman in the ultra nationalist Generalissimo Trujillo who calls for an ethnic cleansing of his Spanish speaking country. As rumors of Haitian persecution become fact, as anxiety turns to terror, Amabelle and Sebastien's dreams are leveled to the most basic human desire: to endure. Based on a little known historical event, this extraordinarily moving novel memorializes the forgotten victims of nationalist madness and the deeply felt passion and grief of its survivors.
The Dominican People: A Documentary People
Publication Date: 2003-02-01
This book provides an annotated collection of documents related to the history of the Dominican Republic and its people. The compilation covers some of the turning points and major topics in the island's history since pre-Columbian times: the extermination of the Talno Indians, sugar and African slavery, the establishment of French Saint Dominique, independence from Haiti and from Spain, caudillo politics, U.S. interventionism, the Trujillo dictatorship, and contemporary politics.
Race and Politics in the Dominican Republic
Publication Date: 2000-04-21
Ernesto Sagas examines the historical development and political use of antihaitianismo, a set of racist and xenophobic attitudes prevalent today in the Dominican Republic that broadly portray Dominican people as white Catholics, while Haitians are viewed as spirit-worshipping black Africans. More than just a ploy to generate patriotism and rally against a neighboring country, the ideology also is used by Dominican leaders to divide their own lower classes.
Sagas looks at the notions of race held by Dominican elites in their creation of an imaginary "white" nation, particularly as the ideas were developed throughout the colonial era, then intellectually refined in the late 19th century, and later exalted to a state ideology during the Trujillo era. Finally, he examines how race and nationalist anti-Haitian feelings still are manipulated by conservative politicians and elites who seek to maintain the status quo, drawing on examples from recent political rhetoric and cartoons, campaign advertisements, and public school history textbooks.
The first book-length study of antihaitianismo, this work offers important lessons for studying racial and ethnic conflict as well as nationalism and comparative politics.
Dominican Republic: A National History
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This updated and expanded edition extends the narrative from 1990 to the first decade of the present century, beginning with the collapse of the Dominican economy. In addition to the electoral fraud and constitutional reforms of 1994 and the return administration of Leonel Fernandez, the updated chapters focus on financial crises, the economic reforms of the 1990s, the free trade agreement with the United States, and party politics. They also take account of the recent Dominican electoral processes, the colossal and fraudulent banking crisis of 2002-2004, and the perpetuation of corruption as part of Dominican political culture.
The Dominican Republic: A Caribbean Crucible
Publication Date: 1992-10-19
A balanced introduction that captures both the unique qualities of the Dominican experience and the aspects which are representative of the minor Latin American states generally. This revised and updated edition (first was in 1982) examines the changing character of governance, politics, economy, critical policy issues, fiscal reform, trade relations, and global and regional ties. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.
Importancia del contexto histórico en el desarrollo del arte dominicano : cronología del arte dominicano, 1844-2005
Publication Date: 2006
Major reference work on Dominican visual art and its evolution throughout the last 3 centuries. The book is divided in 4 sections: an introductory essay with a synthesis of the Dominican artists development in recent history; an historic time frame highlighting the artistic movements and styles and a third section with a chronology of Dominican art following the historic, political, economic and cultural events of the studied period. Finally a fourth section includes more than 300 brief biographies of the mentioned artists with selected illustrations of their work. The book is the first number of a series of published studies part of the educational policy of the present government. OCLC summary
Merengue and Dominican Identity
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
The merengue is internationally recognized as the Dominican Republic's national dance. It is an integral and unifying element of Dominican identity both within that nation and among emigrants abroad. Although Dominicans often make the claim that merengue has always been in their blood, the dance is relatively young, and its popularity among Dominicans of all social classes and ages is an even more recent occurrence.
This book presents three convincing arguments about the merengue's longevity as a unifying symbol of Dominican identity: Dominican identity and the merengue have necessarily been extremely fluid in order to encompass the different cultural and ethnic groups present; historically, the merengue has become a stronger identity symbol when the nation is or is perceived to be threatened from outside; and the white, Catholic, Hispanic Dominican has long been held as the "true" Dominican identity, causing the dance to become progressively "whitened" in terms of performers and style to reflect this notion and gain wider appeal at home and abroad. A map of the Dominican Republic, related photographs of key figures of Dominican history and merengue artists across the decades, and a complete bibliography are included.
The Devil Behind the Mirror - Globalization and Politics in the Dominican Republic
Publication Date: 2006-12-04
In The Devil behind the Mirror, Steven Gregory provides a compelling and intimate account of the impact that transnational processes associated with globalization are having on the lives and livelihoods of people in the Dominican Republic. Grounded in ethnographic fieldwork conducted in the adjacent towns of Boca Chica and Andres, Gregory's study deftly demonstrates how transnational flows of capital, culture, and people are mediated by contextually specific power relations, politics, and history. He explores such topics as the making of a telenova, sex tourism, and racism and discrimination against Haitians, who occupy the lowest rung on the Dominican economic ladder. Innovative and beautifully written, The Devil behind the Mirror masterfully situates the analysis of global economic change in everyday lives.